Changing screen resolution in RH7.1?
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Changing screen resolution in RH7.1?

  1. #1
    It's a gas!
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    699

    Changing screen resolution in RH7.1?

    I have an application that does not fit onto the desktop, so therefore i need to change my screen resolution.
    Ive looked in /etc/X11/XF86Config-4 but im not sure what parameter to change in here, if any.

    Anyone help?

    Cheers

    r3b007

    Edit: I posted this thread in GCC first but got the following error whenever i try to delete it:
    Code:
    Server Error
    The following error occurred:
    
    The server closed the connection while reading the response. 
    Contact your system administrator. 
    (SERVER_RESPONSE_CLOSE)

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    3,914
    I believe this should work for you.

    While in X run xvidtune -next

    [Edit]
    I believe this will give you the next available video mode (if you only need to move by one)... you can run xvidtune alone to get an app to use.

    If I remember correctly anyways. it's been a while..
    [/Edit]

  3. #3
    It's a gas!
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    699
    I think that command just switches between the current resolution and a stretched version of it.
    The screen resolution is at 800x600 right now, so im guessing if i change it to 1024 the application window should fit onto the desktop fine?

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    3,914
    hrm.. sorry about that...

    How about XConfigurator.... do you have that on your system.. or XF86Config? either of those should let you play with your resolution...

    I used Mandrake on my last linux install and just had to go Mandrake Control Center --> hardware --> display to change mine.

  5. #5
    It's a gas!
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    699
    Sorted!
    I added the following line to XF86Config so that it looked like this:
    Code:
    Section "Monitor"
    #    ModeLine  "640x480"   25.175  640 664 760 800
    #                                  480 491 493 525
    
    # 800x600 @ 56 Hz, 35.15 kHz hsync
    #    ModeLine "800x600"     36     800  824  896 1024
    #                                  600  601  603  625
    
         ModeLine "1024x768"    46.0   1024 1032 1176 1344
                                        768 771   777 806
    EndSection
    Thanks for trying to helpHTRegz, appreciated!

  6. #6
    Leftie Linux Lover the_JinX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Beverwijk Netherlands
    Posts
    2,534
    Do

    [ctrl]+[alt]+[+]
    and
    [ctrl]+[alt]+[-]

    work ??

    the [+] and [-] should be the ones on the numpad (right most key's)
    ASCII stupid question, get a stupid ANSI.
    When in Russia, pet a PETSCII.

    Get your ass over to SLAYRadio the best station for C64 Remixes !

  7. #7
    Just a Virtualized Geek MrLinus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Redondo Beach, CA
    Posts
    7,324

    Re: Changing screen resolution in RH7.1?

    Originally posted here by r3b00+

    Edit: I posted this thread in GCC first but got the following error whenever i try to delete it:
    Code:
    Server Error
    The following error occurred:
    
    The server closed the connection while reading the response. 
    Contact your system administrator. 
    (SERVER_RESPONSE_CLOSE)

    Probably because you don't have authority to delete a whole thread (you can delete posts). Anyways, tis gone.
    Goodbye, Mittens (1992-2008). My pillow will be cold without your purring beside my head
    Extra! Extra! Get your FREE copy of Insight Newsletter||MsMittens' HomePage

  8. #8
    It's a gas!
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    699
    That also works the_Jinx but i didnt have the 1024x768 resolution available in XF86Config, so therefore i dont think that would have worked initially!

    Also when i use the [ctrl}+[alt]+[+]or[-] do revert back to 800x600, the full screen doesnt fit and if i move the cursor up, down, left or right the screen moves with it!

    Is there any way to stop this?

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    508
    Originally posted here by r3b00+
    That also works the_Jinx but i didnt have the 1024x768 resolution available in XF86Config, so therefore i dont think that would have worked initially!

    Also when i use the [ctrl}+[alt]+[+]or[-] do revert back to 800x600, the full screen doesnt fit and if i move the cursor up, down, left or right the screen moves with it!

    Is there any way to stop this?

    Hi,

    Can you post your "XF86Config" ...I'd like to see it, if you don't mind


    Cheerss
    Not an image or image does not exist!
    Not an image or image does not exist!

  10. #10
    It's a gas!
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    699
    Heres that XF86Config for ya sweet_angel

    Enjoy!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •