IDS false detection (time critical)

Thread: IDS false detection (time critical)

Banned

IDS false detection (time critical)

I need credible data regarding false detection rates for some open source signature based network intrusion detection system.

I have been eyeing hogwash, but I can't seem to find any such data (and many pages regarding hogwash seem to be down which is never a good sign).

Please excuse my ignorance on this matter, I am not a network engineer, but I'd like to toss a few example COTS/Open Source IDS systems with a false detection rate of less than 1% into a proposal I am throwing together to point the engineers in the right direction.

If this is something real obvious I apologize, it is after three am and my brain has turned to tapioca trying to get this wrapped up. I don't actually need it until 5pm tomorrow, but I will have minimal time later.

Any answers before 4pm PST on May 13 would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks,

catch

I used snort.

It is impossible to generalise in this case. It depends on many factors.

Usually you will get a very large rate of false positives if you enable every rule and do no tuning, however this will vary from system to system.

Networks which contain primarily servers will see a very small number of false positives, if any. Networks with clients will see a few. Networks with clients with P2P will see the number of real attacks swamped by all the P2P software's junk traffic.

I managed to tune an IDS on a server network such that it saw about no false positives, but the number of genuine attacks was so high that it was difficult to separate them out (100s of attacks per day sometimes, but only a few false positives)

Clearly the more rules you enable, the more false positives you will get. Nevertheless, you want to keep a maximum number of rules enabled.