telnet to linux box
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: telnet to linux box

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    42

    Question telnet to linux box

    well

    here at the university we have a unix box (server)(it runs RH7.2) and we telnet to it.

    the other machines run win2000 pro.

    my machine sees all the machines on the network but not the linux server.

    and thats whats giving me headache

    any one who can help ?

    cheers
    antisecurityboy

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    46
    are you using the "tcp/ip" protocol if so you have to be able to ping to youre server.

    try this at command line

    >ping server
    where server is the name or ip address of the linux server.


    xDrack

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    1
    You should try making sure it is connected to the network. Can any other box see it? Can the GNU/Linux box see the network? And is the Win 2000 box connected also? What have you tried?

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    central il
    Posts
    1,779
    By see I hope you don't mean listed in "my network places" as that will not happen unless the linux box is running SAMBA, or something similar. If you can ping the machine by IP (or if there is local DNS running by machine name) then it is on the network. All you have to do at that point is type telnet {machine/ipaddress}.
    Who is more trustworthy then all of the gurus or Buddha’s?

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    42
    well the ping doesnt run

    the other 2000 boxes in the room can see the server, and my machine can see the other 2000 machines (therefore its connected to the network)
    we are using the tcp/ip protocol.

    cheers
    antisecurityboy

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    291
    check to see what kind of file sharing is set up on the RH box.... if your not equipped with a configured package your not going to see it in network neighborhood.... as far as not being able to ping it but being able to telnet in your most likely dealing with firewall software, check the config of that as well as samba or some similar package may be running but the ports themselves could be blocked.

    best of luck
    ~THEJRC~
    I\'ll preach my pessimism right out loud to anyone that listens!
    I\'m not afraid to be alive.... I\'m afraid to be alone.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    508
    Hi,
    Have you check on Linux server DNS configuration I think you need to add your machine "name" to your Linux Server DNS configuration, so you can do telnet to it.
    well the ping doesnt run
    It's mean no communication between your comp and your server


    Just my opinion though..I could be wrong

    Cheers



    Not an image or image does not exist!
    Not an image or image does not exist!

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    10
    Check what subnet the server is on, you are on and also the network 2k box's, they are probably all on different subnets and access is only allowed to the server from the w2k subnet.
    www.prodigynetwork.co.uk

  9. #9
    AO Curmudgeon rcgreen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    2,716
    Did you ping it by name or by numerical address? If you can successfully ping by
    numerical address but not by name, then the name isn't resolving into an
    address. Since only this one machine can't see the linux server, I'd guess you
    either aren't accessing the DNS server (if there is one), or your hosts file needs
    an entry naming the server. Look in c:\winnt\system32\drivers\etc\hosts.
    I may not have that path right for your system, but it's something like that

    Code:
    # Copyright (c) 1998 Microsoft Corp.
    #
    # This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP stack for Windows98
    #
    # This file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. Each
    # entry should be kept on an individual line. The IP address should
    # be placed in the first column followed by the corresponding host name.
    # The IP address and the host name should be separated by at least one
    # space.
    #
    # Additionally, comments (such as these) may be inserted on individual
    # lines or following the machine name denoted by a '#' symbol.
    #
    # For example:
    #
    #      102.54.94.97     rhino.acme.com          # source server
    #       38.25.63.10     x.acme.com              # x client host
    
    127.0.0.1		localhost
    192.168.0.1		rcgreen
    192.168.0.2		stacy
    192.168.0.3		acer
    You see addresses, followed by names.
    This is absolutely essential if the network doesn't have DNS.


    I came in to the world with nothing. I still have most of it.

  10. #10
    Senior Member n01100110's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    352
    Well , first make sure that you can ping the server like said before.To be on the safe side make sure that the telnet service or whatever service your trying to connect to is open and listening , cause it would kinda suck spending headaches on a simple problem.
    -N
    "Serenity is not the absence of conflict, but the ability to cope with it."

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •