Software installation rights

Thread: Software installation rights

Software installation rights

I am a network admin at a manufacture comapny. I have users with W2k and WinXP OS, I often run into users adding little software games and dodas on their computer. I have looked in local security and user rights in the security admin plug in, but I can't seem to find the right setting to enforce the installation rights. can any one help me. Many thanks in advance.

Chen

Hire new admin please.
    Everyone is going to die, I am just as good of a reason as any.

http://think-smarter.blogspot.com

The Iceman Cometh
    Do you have a Server or is it a peer-to-peer environment? If you have a server, you can use Active Directory to restrict installations to admins. If you don't, there's a way to do it (I believe) through the group policy manager. I thought there was a way to do it through the Local Security Policies, but if you can't find it there, I'm probably mistaken.

AJ

As avdven mentioned, if you are running in a domain environment (doesn't have to be AD) you can force them to use domain logons rather than local logons. Then delete the local accounts on each machine. Domain accounts cannot install software on local machines unless they have domain admin privileges.

An alternative is to demote their local user accounts to regular user accounts (for those who are Power Users or local Admins).

- Qualm