Services in nt
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Services in nt

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    55

    Services in nt

    Just a quick question is there any way in nt to find out what port the services are bound to ie view the services and get the port number there using

    Thanks
    \"An eye for an eye and the world would be blind\"
    (I dunno who said this)

    sniper0wolf0 told me it was Ghandi Thanks

  2. #2
    Senior since the 3 dot era
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    1,540
    For a list of ports linked to Microsoft services: search microsoft technet. It's a big resource
    I did the search for you, look at this url for NT4:
    http://support.microsoft.com/default...;EN-US;q150543
    and here's an article with a little more explaination and the win2000 ports:
    http://www.microsoft.com/technet/tre...t4/tcpappc.asp

    and this page http://www.chebucto.ns.ca/~rakerman/port-table.html
    gives you info about tcp/ip ports, protocols used by MS, ...

    I hope this helps



  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    55
    my prob is that someone configured a computer intrestingly and the ports are all over the place i have to find out wich one is being used by which service so i can point the firewall to the right ports and kill all the other services and i cant reinstall and start again is there any way to do this in nt

    problem solved here is the link that tells you how to do this and it has links to all the free tools it uses http://www.sans.org/rr/toppapers/free_tools.php

  4. #4
    You could use fport
    or active ports to find out what is using which port.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    55
    fport didnt give me any output???? it says in usage just to type fport downloading active port now thanxs

    active port has solved it Thanxs noodle

  6. #6
    Senior since the 3 dot era
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    1,540
    Good that you have solved your prob using active ports. I misunderstood (read to quickly) your question. I thought you were searching for specific NT services info. Sorry

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    452

    You might want to try the command "netstat -a" or "netstat -l" check for the proper syntax, but I know that it will give you a detailed discription of what services are listening to what ports. I hope that solves your problem.
    Like this post? Visit PuRe\'s Information Technology Community. We\'ve also got some kick ass Technology Forums. Shop for books and dvds on LiveWebShop.com

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    4,786
    when you type fport you need do be at a command prompt. (this will not work from the run command box)and fport needs to be in the path.
    Bukhari:V3B48N826 “The Prophet said, ‘Isn’t the witness of a woman equal to half of that of a man?’ The women said, ‘Yes.’ He said, ‘This is because of the deficiency of a woman’s mind.’”

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides