Any Linux/Windows Expert?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Any Linux/Windows Expert?

Angry Any Linux/Windows Expert?

Hi, People. I got a bit of a problem:
    I have a dualboot machine running RH Linux (I think it's 6.2/6.3 Red Hat) and Win98 and a DSL connection. While trying to set up the machine for DSL on the Win side, I couldn't and I got a error message saying that I need the DUN program. I did my research (on another computer), found it and downloaded it to a floppy disk. When I got back to my machine, I tried to open the program from the floppy disc but couldn't ( I got an error message saying that The A drive is write-protected? ). I rebooted the machine and at the Lilo boot, when I typed DOS, I got a message saying "Invalid system disk. Replace the disk and press any key".
    The problem is that I have no idea what that means ( I'm a newbie to Linux), I don't know what to do to be able to boot in DOS and any help setting up the DSL connection on either OSes will be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks in advance
    \"Great spirits always encounter strong opposition from mediocre minds.\"
    Albert Einstein

You need to take out the floopy, boot to win98 through LILO, and then hit F8 before windows loads, then you should get options to boot to DOS or safemode, choose DOS and there ya go.

~edit, actually, I'm confused after rereading your post, when you have Win loaded and you try to access the floppy is that when you get the "write protected" message? And the non system disk error, is that whenever you try to boot to Windows now?
    Every now and then, one of you won't annoy me.

I got the "write-protected" message when I first inserted the floppy in my A drive. I rebooted after that and at the Lilo boot, when I type DOS, I get this: "Invalid system disk. Replace the disk and press any key". Therefore, the only option I have is to boot on Linux. My other question is: How can I install my DSL service under Linux?
    Thanks in advance.
    Albert Einstein