nmap results

Thread: nmap results

nmap results

I'm new to linux and I'm tying to make my box as secure as I can......I ran nmap against my ip and got this result..
    (The 1597 ports scanned but not shown below are in state: closed)
    Port State Service
    111/tcp open sunrpc
    631/tcp open ipp
    6000/tcp open X11
    10000/tcp open snet-sensor-mgmt

I also ran an online scan at http://scan.sygatetech.com and got these results......
    web port 80 closed
    ident port 113 closed
    location service port 135 closed
    These were the only ports that wern't stealthed according to their scan.

I have no idea what sunrpc, ipp, x11 and snet-sennsor-mgmt are.
    How bad is this? and what can I do to make it more secure?
    You can\'t squeeze cheese from a goat before it\'s hatched.............

Lets see how i go ....

Port 111 - generally is the Sun RPC (rpcbind, portmapper) service on your system. Coutesy of a Google search: "Many services based on Remote Procedure Call (RPC; defined in [Sr95a]) do not listen for requests on a ``well-known'' port, but rather pick an arbitrary port when initialized. They then register this port with a Portmapper service running on the same machine. Only the Portmapper needs to run on a well-known port; when clients want access to the service, they first contact the Portmapper, and it tells them which port they should then contact in order to reach the service."

Port 631 - generally used for print service CUPS ... on my machine if I connect to port 631 (when enabled) I get the CUPS admin page for setting up the print server ...

Port 6000 - generally the X Session - the GUI (Screen) you are looking at, this can easily be disabled from listening on tcp port 6000 by issuing the command "startx -nolisten tcp" when kicking off from run level 3.