Thread: Perfect password?

Perfect password?

The other day a few friends and I were having a discussion on the perfect password. I was a student administrator for our schools computer lab (I just graduated) and was incharge of passwords. So I challenged other students to crack my passwoords. well They were all trying things like lc4 and programs like it that rely on dictionary attacks they never got it, so we stared to discuss how to make a perfect password. We came up with that the perfect password should include Uppercase letters, lowercase letters, numbers, and symbols. The problem with this is that a good brute force attack should be able to crack this. So I ask How do i ame the perfect password?
    Everyone is going to die, I am just as good of a reason as any.

http://think-smarter.blogspot.com

A good brute forcer?

hwi79Yhi[34-[[768WIH

It will take around 1,000,000 years to crack that. A good password is, as you mentioned, one which mixes uppercase, lowercase, symbols and numbers and is 6+ characters long. These passwords are extremely secure, and if used correctly, cannot be cracked during a useful time period.

you might also consider changing the password every now and again. That way even if someone had the resources (... NSA ...), so long as you changed the password before they broke it, you'd never be vulnerable.

Just a Virtualized Geek MrLinus's Avatar
    I don't believe there is such a thing as a perfect password. It's like saying there is unbreakable cryptography. Somewhere, something will break it. Using letters (uppercase and lowercase), numbers and symbols in combination is always a good thing and the longer, the better. Certainly a brute force will break it but make it longer and harder for them to do so. In addition, change your password regularly. Every 3-5 months is a good rule of thumb for most companies.
    Goodbye, Mittens (1992-2008). My pillow will be cold without your purring beside my head