Something Really Weird and Confusing
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Something Really Weird and Confusing

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    17

    Something Really Weird and Confusing

    Ok... I was messing around with the C Prompt with some friend and I have my own free hosting account at www.fateback.com. boogie.deep-ice.com. Anyways I was wondering what would happen if I logged onto my Ftp through a C Promt. Here is exactly what I said.

    [gloworange]C:\Documents and Setting... Blah Blah>ftp ftp.deep-ice.com
    Connected to cool2.fateback.com.
    220 216.65.1.200 FTP Server Ready.
    User <cool2.fateback.com:<none>>: dev/nul (saw this in a book and tried... im dumb though)
    331 Password Required for dev/nul.
    Password:
    530 Login Incorrect.
    Login failed
    ftp> >[/gloworange]

    Please lemme know what I just did. Thanks please dont flame. Eek...

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    3,840
    http://www.tpdigital.com/ftptutorial/dosftp/dosftp.html step-by-step login explanation

    http://cyberknights.ucf.edu/ftp.html ( ftp ms-dos commands )

    i think you entered the login information wrong ....

  3. #3
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    33
    Acquire your login info first budday.

    Madman

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    117
    Please lemme know what I just did. Thanks please dont flame. Eek...
    When you are talking about dev/nul you are probably thinking of dev/null.

    Think about dev/null as a black hole, what ever you put in there or pipe too it gets sucked in and wont ever come back out again.

    To answer you question:
    You Tried to login as user "dev/nul".

    I am guessing there is no such user on the ftp, there could be, but I dont think there is
    If there is such a user, you probably entered the wrong passwd for the account.
    And thus the login failed.
    .sig - There never was a .sig?
    I own a Schneider EuroPC with MS-Dos 3.3 and it works.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    17
    Well I actually wasnt trying to login to my FTP. I know how to do that with my GUI Ftp client. My friend just told me to try that so...

    Thanks for the information and help though! ^_^

  6. #6
    AO Curmudgeon rcgreen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    2,716
    Just enter in your user name and password, and you can FTP
    just as well as if you were using the GUI.

    In fact, all real gurus at least know how to do things from a
    command prompt, even if they customarily use the GUI day to day.
    It is a good exercise for the mind.
    I came in to the world with nothing. I still have most of it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides