www problem
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: www problem

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    17

    www problem

    Hi
    ive a habit from the begining... I dont type www for *.com sites and the page opens.
    But nowa days iam getting a problem when I type a website name without "www" some thirdgrade search engine webpage is comingup. Iam sure the website Ip is stored somewhere, but idont know where....
    Dont assume that iam lazy.... we should shorten the things....why unnecessarily typing WWW
    when the usual sites( leave the secret sites) are in world wide web
    bye
    kalyan

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Area-51
    Posts
    148
    I never thought the www.* mattered, if this thirdgrade search engine is lop.com then most likly your misspelling the url in some minor matter.
    It is impossible to make anything foolproof because fools are so ingenious. - Murphy
    CooLL.Net

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    394
    you just need to know about the domain name system.

    it is a tree like in structure. and can be traversed like a tree.

    fully qualified domain name is of the form subdomain.secondary_domain.top_level_domain where subsomains may be more than one, or not present at all. this is used to find a hosts location in the tree-like domain system.

    so google.com is the secondary domain google, under the top level domain .com .
    and www.google.com is the host that is running the webservice. root -> .com -> google -> host

    fully qualified host name is a URL. just like www.here.com and the www is not a domain. this is used to find a specific host in the unique tree-like domain system of THAT "domains zone". google -> this part of the network here -> that host over there

    thats not it. you should read all you can find on this topic.
    Hmm...theres something a little peculiar here. Oh i see what it is! the sentence is talking about itself! do you see that? what do you mean? sentences can\'t talk! No, but they REFER to things, and this one refers directly-unambigeously-unmistakably-to the very sentence which it is!

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    174
    What browser are you using? In IE, you can just type in the name, ie "antionline" and then press [Ctrl]+[Enter]. The browser will add the "http://www." + your domain input + ".com" and load the resulting name "http://www.antionline.com"
    Mike Reilly
    bluebeard96@yahoo.com

  5. #5
    AO Curmudgeon rcgreen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    2,716
    You need to play with the configuration of your browser.
    As has been mentioned, Internet Explorer adds the http://
    by default, but there is also a setting to configure automatic searches
    from the address bar.
    If the browser can't find an address as you have typed it, it will go to a
    search engine (of your choice) automatically. It sounds like this
    particular search engine "installed itself", not unusual behavior
    these days, unfortunately.
    I came in to the world with nothing. I still have most of it.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    282
    When I had to configure domain names with my web server, I rememberin my DNS registration that i could choose to enable wild cards where *.domain.com would match with www.domain.com

    I believe, this is dependant on how the domain was registered and what host the sub domain www is routed to, is this corect?

    EDIT: Here is a post by ele5125 that I think answers your question

    http://www.antionline.com/showthread...hreadid=234162

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides