Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Encryption in C++ or BASIC

Encryption in C++ or BASIC

Hey, I'm new to programming, and I know a little about basic, and a minimal amount about C++. I was wondering if anyone could explain the steps needed to be taken for writting an encryption program. If someone would like to talk to me via email or aim, I'd be really grateful, just because I don't think many people will post here... But thanks for any posts
    -0ri0n
    With what weapons World War Three will be fought, I do not know, but World War Four will be fought with sticks and stones.
    -Albert Einstein

Banned
    I don't know C++ or BASIC that well but it would all depend on what kind of encryption you would want. Encryption could be a slight change (moves every letter up by 1, "a" would change to "b") or it could follow a specific algothrim that depends on many variables (i.e time, amount of letters, etc.).

Well, I'll write a quick and very simple encrytion program in C++ below:
    (I apologize for any errors, I haven't programed in well over six months.)

#include <iostream.h>

int main()
    {

// Bad programming skills will show... must be a 10 character password.

char password[10];
    char encrypted[10];
    cout << "Enter the password: ";
    cin >> password;

// Time for encryption!

for( int x = 0; x < 10; x++)
    {
    encrytped[x] = password[x] + 1;
    }

// Display encrypted password!

cout << "Your encrypted password is: " << encrypted << endl;

return 0;
    }

Again I want to emphasize that the program above may have errors and may be quite lame but that could be a simple encrytion program that changes every letter by 1.

As for the steps for writing an encryption program, I would imagine that they would be close to something as follows:

1) Identify cause (simple encryption or CIA level).
    2) Form an algothrim that supports cause.
    3) Write the program.
    4) Ask people to test the program.
    5) Encrypt some text and see if t works.