Hard Drive Mounting
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Hard Drive Mounting

  1. #1

    Hard Drive Mounting

    Hello Friends,

    I have a seperate hard drive installed on my PC and is a 'slave'. Over my windows days, I downloaded heaps of MP3's and recently I switched to linux and can't seem to locate the drive. Yes it's FAT naturally. Would someone shed some light on the topic. Much Thanks.

    Scatman
    If the scatman can do it so can you.

  2. #2
    AO Veteran NeuTron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    550
    Im not exactly sure but I think you can just check your fstab file and see if it makes reference to an "hdb*"

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    452
    what you need to do is edit your fstab, and add the line below
    This is the device --- where to mount ---- filesystem ---- read/write ----- group and owner <<--not this line
    /dev/hdb1 -------------- /mnt/windows --- auto ----------- defaults --------------- 0 0 <<--yeah,this line don't add the -----'s ( I put the ----'s just for spacing here.)

    save the fstab file. (/etc/fstab just incase you didn't know where it was) after you do that, create a folder where your drive will be mounted to, just make sure it matches the fstab file. After that, open a prompt and type# mount /dev/hdb1 and it should mount
    to the location you've specified in fstab.

    That'll be $200 dollars..................Linux consultant fee, lol.

    Enjoy your music


    --PuRe
    Like this post? Visit PuRe\'s Information Technology Community. We\'ve also got some kick ass Technology Forums. Shop for books and dvds on LiveWebShop.com

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    188
    Hi scatman here is what you do

    1. Login as root, open a command shell
    2. Type fdisk -l
    You will get a list of partitions, the fat partitions will be labeled as Win95 fat etc.
    3. To mount this create a directory say
    mkdir /D:
    4. Say you found the partition as /dev/hdb4, to mount do
    mount -t vfat /dev/hdb4 /D:
    5. If you want this partition to be mounted every time you boot into linux
    edit /etc/fstab, add line(tab separate each entry)
    /dev/hdb4 /D: vfat defaults 0 0
    6. Enjoy the mp3's

  5. #5
    Wow! Thanks alot! Quick Question though: 'edit' is an unrecognized command. What's this about? I'm using the terminal and I am 'root'.

    Scatman
    If the scatman can do it so can you.

  6. #6
    Leftie Linux Lover the_JinX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Beverwijk Netherlands
    Posts
    2,534
    that means there is no program installed called edit..

    just use a nice editor like mcedit (looks and feels like the DOS one)

    or a real man's editor like vi
    ASCII stupid question, get a stupid ANSI.
    When in Russia, pet a PETSCII.

    Get your ass over to SLAYRadio the best station for C64 Remixes !

  7. #7
    Trumpet-Eared Gentoo Freak
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    992
    if you're root try typing in the shell,

    #nano -w /etc/fstab

    Then CTRL + O to save, and CTRL + X to quit the nano editor.
    If nano shouldn't be available, try pico... that's a similar editor.

    Greetz,
    Come and check out our wargame-site @ http://www.rootcontest.org
    We chat @ irc.smdc-network.org #lobby

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    452
    use the program vi to edit your fstab.

    1# cd /etc
    2# vi fstab
    3# make your changes as described above.
    4# :w <<---saves your changes
    5# :q <<---exits vi

    You should really man vi, because it's a little tricky the first time you use it. But go ahead and use what ever text editor you feel comfortable with.


    --PuRe
    Like this post? Visit PuRe\'s Information Technology Community. We\'ve also got some kick ass Technology Forums. Shop for books and dvds on LiveWebShop.com

  9. #9
    Trumpet-Eared Gentoo Freak
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    992
    Guess everyone has his own editing touch

    We were with three replying at the same time, lol
    Come and check out our wargame-site @ http://www.rootcontest.org
    We chat @ irc.smdc-network.org #lobby

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •