p4 motherboards run p3 chips?
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: p4 motherboards run p3 chips?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    31

    p4 motherboards run p3 chips?

    Wondering if a pentium 3 chip will run on a motherboard advertised as a p4 chip motherboard.

    thank you

  2. #2
    Just a Virtualized Geek MrLinus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Redondo Beach, CA
    Posts
    7,324
    Don't believe so. Different form factor IIRC.
    Goodbye, Mittens (1992-2008). My pillow will be cold without your purring beside my head
    Extra! Extra! Get your FREE copy of Insight Newsletter||MsMittens' HomePage

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    central il
    Posts
    1,779
    MsMittens you are correct. There are a number of other reasons but the diffrent form factor is a main one. (diffrent Bios, diffrent bus speed, ect ect)
    Who is more trustworthy then all of the gurus or Buddha’s?

  4. #4
    Old Fart
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    1,658
    Yup...all of the above are correct....when you jump a generation you will usually find the total number of pins ont the CPU increase as well as the orientation of said pins. Head over to www.pricewatch.com and find yourself a nicely priced P4 m/b and CPU combo. Best prices ont the net, bar none!
    Al
    It isn't paranoia when you KNOW they're out to get you...

  5. #5
    Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    12
    Yeah all above is corrert and the fact that the ZIF (zero insertion force) socket will be the wrong size and will ovbiously have the incorrect number of pins. And I must be honest prices for P4 chips are ok really at the moment. Get yourself off to a computer fair.

    Robert Davison

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •