My Day

Thread: My Day

My Day

This is GCC and anything goes... so I'm going to share my day with ya'll mainly because I need to vent and I'm waiting for my roommate to finish with the bathroom..

First off.. let me tell you about my job... I get 8 bux (CDN) an hour.. that's less than $6USD.... to work my ass off all day.. Before I had to stack wood, or pick orders but I always had a supervisor, because I've been there less than 2 months... Well last Tuesday both senior guys hurt themselves.. so they took me off my regular job and put me on a job that I have less than a day's experience on.... And I have no experience at running it, only at being a grunt and moving stuff.. Now instead of giving me a somewhat experienced crew, they give me a team of new hires... and the job we were put on was stacking the roof trusses.... Now I don't know how many of you have ever handled a roof truss.... but when they're 10-12ft high and 40ft long made of 2x6 on the outside and 2x4 as the webbing.. they tend to be pretty heavy.. but the idea is if you find your balance you can carry them between 2 people..... (barely).... so i'm training these new guys.. but because I'm still kinda new and make the same amount as them.. They refuse to listen to me or do what I ask.. and I have no authority to send them home or anything, so I have to put up with it... So I spent all day running my ass off trying to keep up with the 4 teams I had building trusses and sending them out to me... (oh and by the way... the experienced stackers on the other side of the biulding.. only have 2 teams building trusses)..... On top of that. .the thin metal banding we use to hold the trusses together.. well it's new stuff and our banders (machines for banding the banding) aren't properly calibrated.. so we couldn't accurately band anything.... Then the forklift drivers were busy and didn't move any of my finished orders.. so I had to work around almost 200 trusses.. trying to find places on the ground to lay the