Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: telnet

telnet

ok noob here lets see if i got this right i put a IP in telnet scan the port . is this how i use other ppl comps? if i get in there is it windos r commands. yes give me hell 4 this x)

No, normally you cannot control other people's computer just by telnetting into them, unless they have some backdoor or something installed. And this is cracking, don't do it.
    If a backdoor is installed, you control the pc using the command prompt. Also there is a better tool available then telnet; netcat. Find it here: http://www.atstake.com/research/tool...ork_utilities/.
    Definitly learn how to work with it.
    The above sentences are produced by the propaganda and indoctrination of people manipulating my mind since 1987, hence, I cannot be held responsible for this post\'s content - me

www.elhalf.com

Banned
    In a comp like XP type telnet
    then o
    then type the a IP like 127.0.0.1 25 <-- 25 is the port# for like a mail server
    And yes you'll be asked for commands and sometimes even a login.

But its not going to have screen dump or mouse control & the many options that alot of these remote admin tools have. Oh and by the way you can telnet to servers (legally) with telnet://drill.hackerslab.org and there are a few places in the http://happyhacker.org site.

You can also like telnet to a network printer (printer with a networkcard not a shared printer)
    then you can adjust the settings .
    You can also connect to a router or a switch and provided you have the password can configure the settings here also.

Telnet can be a dangerous tool ... if you use it on devices you are not supposed to be on you might get in trouble

Anyway ..my two cents,
    Back when I was a boy, we carved our own IC's out of wood.