question on subnet mask - Page 2
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 16 of 16

Thread: question on subnet mask

  1. #11
    Old-Fogey:Addicts founder Terr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    2,007
    Eh, I dredged this up from the depths... Almost makes we wish I never posted a tutorial--because now I have a bit "Tutorials:1" near my name and it just looks forlorn.
    [HvC]Terr: L33T Technical Proficiency

  2. #12
    Senior Member IKnowNot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    792
    Now Iím confused.

    If you take the tutorial from TERR and apply it, you have

    IP1 10000000.00001000.10000001.00101011 (128.8.129.43)
    IP2 10000000.00001000.10100001.00110111 (128.8.161.55)
    mask 11111111 .11111111.00011111.00000000 (255.255.31.0 )


    10000000.00001000.---00001.-------- (128.8.129.43)
    10000000.00001000.---00001.-------- (128.8.161.55)

    Couldnít they be on the same network?? Is it possible??
    " And maddest of all, to see life as it is and not as it should be" --Miguel Cervantes

  3. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    15
    well well well !!! computers are idiots .not WE!!!
    coming to details of question, this question is being asked in GATE(graduate aptitude test in engineering) in india and there IS an answer to this one which i dunno.
    i had worked on subnets problems like given IP address and 'n' systems in network etc etc.....
    but this Q is not asked directly.
    I think 'D' is correct answer. but i dont have solution!

  4. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    1,027
    Ahem, someone needs to go review RFCs... Netmasks MUST be continuous "1" bits.

    Want to try prove me wrong?: Tell me the network and host addresses of 63.146.109.212 if it has a subnet mask of 255.255.31.0. Good luck.


    Ammo
    Credit travels up, blame travels down -- The Boss

  5. #15
    Master-Jedi-Pimps0r & Moderator thehorse13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Washington D.C. area
    Posts
    2,883
    SolarWinds makes a nice subnet calculator. It's the one I use all the time although I am going to check out HTRegz's.

    http://support.solarwinds.net/update...stomerFree.cfm
    Our scars have the power to remind us that our past was real. -- Hannibal Lecter.
    Talent is God given. Be humble. Fame is man-given. Be grateful. Conceit is self-given. Be careful. -- John Wooden

  6. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    44
    I would love to see someone give me an answer as to how N.N.31.x could be a legit subnetmask. Maybe this question was meant to leave blank since there is NO real answer???
    Agreeing with ammo, the network side of the subnetmask has to be all '1' bits, and the host side of the subnetmask are all '0's.

    And to go a little further into ammo's discussion, to show you proof that there is no such thing as a N.N.31.x subnetmask, look at RFC 1878
    Os1LaYr5

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides