HP and Compaq Computers Notice !!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: HP and Compaq Computers Notice !!

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    343

    Angry HP and Compaq Computers Notice !!

    Hello All

    It is now appears that HP and Compaq do not include any
    restore disks or drivers disk, neither do they have any place
    on their website to download the drivers.....

    I had several computers I needed to do a clean install
    of XP due to a corrupted drive.
    Their restoe is on a partition on the drive
    and thus no CD's
    Not really a very nice thing to do.....
    Usually that is not a problem but if the
    device drivers are not on XP and there is
    no info on where to get it.... and You do not have
    another computer of the same model around, YOUR SCREWERD!!!

    Ideas ??? or comments ????
    There may be other computers mfgs. that do the same thing.....
    Lets hear from you....
    Franklin Werren at www.bagpipes.net
    Yes I do play the Bagpipes!

    And learning to Play the Bugle

  2. #2
    GreekGoddess
    Guest
    My main computer is a Compaq, part of the 5000 series, and came with all the recovery cds. Now mind you, it isn't a traditional install of XP that I have on the cds, it's Compaq's version, with all of their extra junk. I had a problem a while back, when I messed up my windows partition beyond repair installing linux the first time. I had lost my recovery cd and had to go through a huge ordeal on the phone with Compaq. If you didn't buy extra time on your warranty, you have to pay 900 charges, thank god my warranty was still good. I spent about an hour trying to speak english to this indian guy who had no idea, so it seemed, what I was talking about. In the end, I had to drop 10 dollars for them to ship me a spare cd, which partitions your hard disk a certain way to allow for the compaq install. I don't know WHY or what they do to the partitions myself, but I know it won't take a regular windows partition, cause I got nothing but a blinking red screen that said: CONTACT COMPAQ CUSTOMER SUPPORT.

    I know HP is handled the same way. My uncle had the same trouble a while back with their custom cds, since they don't bother to give you a REAL copy of Windows. Yeah, you get your authenticity certificate, but it's not an actual windows cd.

    But yeah, they stick you in a difficult spot. You either have to have that recovery cd, or you have to go to a designated Compaq center to have your computer repartitioned. While I was waiting for my cd in the mail, I borrowed my friend's recovery cd...wasn't from the exact same model, her's was a lower end, but it still got the partitioning right and I went from there and was able to use my comp instead of going without for a week.

  3. #3
    Senior Member DeadAddict's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    2,583
    I had that problem not too long ago. The tech support guy kept on telling me that I had to pay 50.00 for a software warranty because it had expired. I told the guy to go to H3LL. I vowed never to buy another compaq or a HP computer, I will buy from dell They are very friendly and are very quick on sending replacement parts.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    343
    Update:
    After a bunch of e-mails; they finally gave me a link
    to the board Mfg. so I could down load the needed drivers
    for my customer whom I was speaking about...
    Lucky he had XP Pro and we were doing a clean
    install.... after trashing the fat 32 inatall partition....

    DUMB!!! DUMB!!! DUMB!!!
    Franklin Werren at www.bagpipes.net
    Yes I do play the Bagpipes!

    And learning to Play the Bugle

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    3,747
    I had a HP computer once. I never bought one again. I couldn't use any of HP's devices with other computers, it was slow, and horrible service. I build my own now. However, my computer did come with a set of rescue disks.

    Can you call them up and tell them that they never gave you a cd with the OS on it. See if they will send you a new restore disks.
    =

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    343
    A note to HP Users.....
    There is an areas called c:/hp as a hidden directory
    COPY ALL THE FILES TO CD's ... There your drivers
    Also c:/i386 is the XP home install files....

    Now all I need is the Programs for the wireless keyboard so the extra buttons will work...

    Fun...WOW!
    Franklin Werren at www.bagpipes.net
    Yes I do play the Bagpipes!

    And learning to Play the Bugle

  7. #7
    Disgruntled Postal Worker fourdc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Vermont, USA
    Posts
    797
    If the MFRs are going to play this crap, I'll stick to building my "gray" boxes.

    Tiger and a few of the hardware retailers are offering OEM prices on Microsoft products.

    I'm building 2 computers in August for the family's network, it will be worth the extra bucks to get what I want and the restore material. I give lifetime warranties on my family's pcs
    ddddc

    "Somehow saying I told you so just doesn't cover it" Will Smith in I, Robot

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    343

    HP Last Reply

    The latest reply!!!

    The volume control and internet buttons on keyboard requires special
    drivers from HP. However, as you have change the Operating System we
    are unable to provide you the drivers for Windows XP Pro.

    There full of CRAP!!!
    Franklin Werren at www.bagpipes.net
    Yes I do play the Bagpipes!

    And learning to Play the Bugle

  9. #9
    AO Curmudgeon rcgreen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    2,716
    Heaven help you if you have a hard drive die on you. I have an older COMPAQ, and
    it has a recover CD. It is made with Norton Ghost, and it partitions the Drive into
    one FAT32 partition, whether you like it or not. There is a directory that has all the
    Windows CAB files, though, so you can copy it and have a full installable copy
    of Windows, and you could burn it to a CD.

    Why do they go to all the trouble of including that stuff, but not document
    it properly.

    Anyway, back up all that stuff before a disaster strikes.
    I came in to the world with nothing. I still have most of it.

  10. #10
    Senior Member DeadAddict's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    2,583
    They do that so you will have to call and give you a bunch of garbage. and tell you that you have to update this and that and pay for this sometimes it is better to build your own custom built boxes are sometimes better than pre built ones

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •