Thread: Programming?????

Ok...I am a noob working from the ground up. I understand the hardware, how the pooter takes 0's and 1's and turns them into data...That took a while to master (my logic is NOT great)

So, I wanna learn to program (prolly in C or Python) but one part of the programming theory stunts any progress. I am just not getting how a computer takes the instructions in a program--being just arithmetical algorithms, functions, and whatnot--and turns it into say--an antivirus program, or a kickin' video game.

It may not be important to most, but I learn from the ground up, and if I can't understand how a bunch of commands that look nothing like "if he is shot he dies" accomplishes just that....

[gloworange]\"Not all that is gold glitters, and not all those who wander are lost.\" ~ Lord of the Rings[/gloworange]

The computer doesn't take the instructions in your program.. at least not directly. That's why you need an interpreter or a compiler. They tell the computer, in a language it understands, what you want it to do. Others can probably explain this much better than me, but I'll do my best to give you a basic idea. The computer operates on 1s and 0s (binary) like you said, Something is on or off.. there's no other option. Everything a computer does is based on that. When you compile you are converting the program to machine language (sometimes assembly which is then converted to machine language with an assembler).