email problem

Thread: email problem

email problem

i am sure someone invaded my computer and used my email for malicious purposes....my firewall was obviously not working..how does a person do this without it being obvious to me the user...
    and is it this sort of hacking common?
    i am a newbie so am curious how it was done..

Re: email problem

Originally posted here by spud405
    i am sure someone invaded my computer and used my email for malicious purposes....my firewall was obviously not working..how does a person do this without it being obvious to me the user...
    and is it this sort of hacking common?
    i am a newbie so am curious how it was done..
    Your going to have to give us a little more to work with here mate, what makes you think your e-mail was hacked? What e-mail account(s) are you talking about? What OS are you running? Do you have anit-virus software and a firewall installed?

Cheers:
    DjM

ok..i have had ppl getting very annoyed by emails from my outlook express account...they forwarded these malicious emails back to me and it was def from my account but not sent by me...i have norton internet security but am having trouble with it and often have to disable it to get web sites up...norton said its the dial up config..but i havent worked out how to re set it all..

Originally posted here by spud405
    ok..i have had ppl getting very annoyed by emails from my outlook express account...they forwarded these malicious emails back to me and it was def from my account but not sent by me...i have norton internet security but am having trouble with it and often have to disable it to get web sites up...norton said its the dial up config..but i havent worked out how to re set it all..
    At a quick guess, I would say you have a virus. I would hit Symantec and perform an online scan. Get started HERE

Cheers:
    DjM