Win 2000 Server DNS
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Win 2000 Server DNS

  1. #1

    Win 2000 Server DNS

    I might have this in the wrong forum so if I do i'm sorry.

    I just rebult my Win 2k server and i'm' not able to connect to my website while on the LAN unless I use the local IP of the server. Anybody from the WAN can connect to it fine. I know that its a DNS issue but I can't remember what record I'm missing.

    I have the host record, MX, SOA and NS.

    Thanks for your help!

    Chris
    \"Success is my only option, failure is not\" - Eminem

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    18
    It may be a lil cheesey, but create a host record for www and point it at your webserver. I am sure there are better ways of doing it, but thats always worked for me.

  3. #3
    Jaded Network Admin nebulus200's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    1,356
    Who hosts your DNS to the outside world? Is your ISP providing the records or are they querying them from you?

    Are you saying that you are using your new server as the DNS server? Is it not able to resolve its own names or any other names it is authoritative for? Are other machines on the LAN that point to the server able to resolve names?

    I could ask more questions, but I am going to wait until you answer the above ones...

    /nebulus
    There is only one constant, one universal, it is the only real truth: causality. Action. Reaction. Cause and effect...There is no escape from it, we are forever slaves to it. Our only hope, our only peace is to understand it, to understand the 'why'. 'Why' is what separates us from them, you from me. 'Why' is the only real social power, without it you are powerless.

    (Merovingian - Matrix Reloaded)

  4. #4
    Master-Jedi-Pimps0r & Moderator thehorse13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Washington D.C. area
    Posts
    2,884
    Do you have a PTR record in the Reverse Lookup Zone for the DNS server? If not, this is your problem. Also, as suggested, make an A record for the host in the Forward Lookup Zone.

    --TH13
    Our scars have the power to remind us that our past was real. -- Hannibal Lecter.
    Talent is God given. Be humble. Fame is man-given. Be grateful. Conceit is self-given. Be careful. -- John Wooden

  5. #5
    Nebulus200:

    This is actually for my home network. I have Optimum Online and my ISP and I use DYNDNS for DNS service. I'm using my server as a DNS server for my LAN and so I can run exchange. My website address is www.gamisou.com but i can only look it up on my LAN when i type http://10.10. 14.1. Its driving me crazy!!


    thehorse13: yes I have a PTR record in the Reverse Lookup Zone.
    \"Success is my only option, failure is not\" - Eminem

  6. #6
    Jaded Network Admin nebulus200's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    1,356
    Ok, do this for me, once on your nameserver itself and once on another PC on your LAN. It must have nslookup installed (win2k/XP/NT/Unix do by default):

    Bring up a command shell (start -> run -> cmd.exe)

    type:

    nslookup

    (once it loads type

    set querytype = all
    set d2
    (must be in this order)

    Then try to look up and address on your LAN (I am assuming that you are 1) pointing your machines on your LAN to your DNS server and 2) that you are able to resolve addresses on the internet through this server).

    Post the results, that should be a pretty good indicator of what is wrong.

    /nebulus
    There is only one constant, one universal, it is the only real truth: causality. Action. Reaction. Cause and effect...There is no escape from it, we are forever slaves to it. Our only hope, our only peace is to understand it, to understand the 'why'. 'Why' is what separates us from them, you from me. 'Why' is the only real social power, without it you are powerless.

    (Merovingian - Matrix Reloaded)

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    343
    2 ways to fix that....
    1) Edit your host file on your box to reflect your internal LAN ip address of your web server.
    2) Set up an internal DNS Server, I use Bind-PE for a Windows server and Linux Bind.

    Hope this helps

    BTW on an XP Box the Host file is located
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\etc
    Franklin Werren at www.bagpipes.net
    Yes I do play the Bagpipes!

    And learning to Play the Bugle

  8. #8
    Nebulus, this is what I got after running dcdiag.exe :

    Domain Controller Diagnosis

    Performing initial setup:
    Done gathering initial info.

    Doing initial required tests

    Testing server: Default-First-Site-Name\GAMISOU1
    Starting test: Connectivity
    GAMISOU1's server GUID DNS name could not be resolved to an
    IP address. Check the DNS server, DHCP, server name, etc
    Although the Guid DNS name
    (1d2a58d0-e976-47c8-b113-dd49e028eef7._msdcs.gamisou.com) couldn't be
    resolved, the server name (gamisou1.gamisou.com) resolved to the IP
    address (192.168.1.2) and was pingable. Check that the IP address is
    registered correctly with the DNS server.
    ......................... GAMISOU1 failed test Connectivity

    Doing primary tests

    Testing server: Default-First-Site-Name\GAMISOU1
    Skipping all tests, because server GAMISOU1 is
    not responding to directory service requests

    Running enterprise tests on : gamisou.com
    Starting test: Intersite
    ......................... gamisou.com passed test Intersite
    Starting test: FsmoCheck
    Warning: DcGetDcName(TIME_SERVER) call failed, error 1355
    A Time Server could not be located.
    The server holding the PDC role is down.


    This is what I got after running NSLOOKUP:

    C:\>nslookup
    Default Server: gamisou1.www.gamisou.com
    Address: 192.168.1.2

    > set querytype = all
    Unrecognized command: set querytype = all
    > set querytype=all
    > set d2
    > nslookup
    Server: gamisou1.www.gamisou.com
    Address: 192.168.1.2

    ------------
    SendRequest(), len 38
    HEADER:
    opcode = QUERY, id = 2, rcode = NOERROR
    header flags: query, want recursion
    questions = 1, answers = 0, authority records = 0, additiona

    QUESTIONS:
    nslookup.gamisou.com, type = ANY, class = IN

    ------------
    ------------
    Got answer (100 bytes):
    HEADER:
    opcode = QUERY, id = 2, rcode = NXDOMAIN
    header flags: response, auth. answer, want recursion, recursio
    questions = 1, answers = 0, authority records = 1, additiona

    QUESTIONS:
    nslookup.gamisou.com, type = ANY, class = IN
    AUTHORITY RECORDS:
    -> gamisou.com
    type = SOA, class = IN, dlen = 39
    ttl = 3600 (1 hour)
    primary name server = gamisou1.gamisou.com
    responsible mail addr = admin.gamisou.com
    serial = 5
    refresh = 900 (15 mins)
    retry = 600 (10 mins)
    expire = 86400 (1 day)
    default TTL = 3600 (1 hour)

    ------------
    *** gamisou1.www.gamisou.com can't find nslookup: Non-existent domain


    I don't know much about DNS but hopefully this will help you guys out. I appreciate all the help!


    Highlander:

    Editing the host file worked but I don't want to change them on all my computers. Thank you for your help though.
    \"Success is my only option, failure is not\" - Eminem

  9. #9
    Jaded Network Admin nebulus200's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    1,356
    Ok, that would have been helpful, but you should have tried to look up your server's name, what you did was issue a query for the name 'nslookup' and it didn't find it, which I am not suprised by.


    Explanation:
    > set querytype=all ----> tells DNS that you want to look for any available record
    (MX, SOA, A, CNAME, etc)
    > set d2 ----> tells DNS server to set the debug level to 2, which usually
    gives enough information about the session so you can tell what is going on.

    The next line, you typed, nslookup.

    Which issued the query to your DNS server to resolve the name 'nslookup'. At this point, you need to enter the server's name that you are trying to resolve. The output from the debug level 2 for the server that you can't resolve locally should give you enough information to figure out what happened, and if not, post it here and I will try to help.

    /nebulus
    There is only one constant, one universal, it is the only real truth: causality. Action. Reaction. Cause and effect...There is no escape from it, we are forever slaves to it. Our only hope, our only peace is to understand it, to understand the 'why'. 'Why' is what separates us from them, you from me. 'Why' is the only real social power, without it you are powerless.

    (Merovingian - Matrix Reloaded)

  10. #10
    I'll try that tonight!! Sorry for the delay on whats going on but i havne't had time to work on my own stuff.

    thanks guys
    \"Success is my only option, failure is not\" - Eminem

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •