Fluxbox question
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Fluxbox question

  1. #1
    It's a gas!
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    699

    Fluxbox question

    Ive just installed Fluxbox so im a real n00b to this window manager.
    I need to know how to access the modem configuration in Fluxbox. This isnt apparent from the menu i get on the desktop so if anyone can advise it would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks in advance

    r3b007

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    339
    check out a package called fluxconf, it was a huge help when i installed flux. :

    http://speakeasy.rpmfind.net/linux/R...e/FByName.html
    Don\'t be a bitch! Use Slackware.

  3. #3
    er0k
    Guest
    well, if you use kppp, and have kde installed, or anything like that you can still access it via a shell. Just open a shell and type the command you normally would to open your modem config... just do it all in a shell..

  4. #4
    It's a gas!
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    699
    I dont have KDE installed so kppp is no good.

    Ive tried the following command from a terminal
    Code:
    ./pppd call ppp0
    but it shows ATZ then goes back to a command line.

    My /etc/ppp/peers/ppp0 file is as follows
    Code:
    connect "usr/bin/wvdial --remotename ppp0 --chat 'Freeserve'"
    and my /etc/ppp/peers/wvdial file
    Code:
    noauth
    name wvdial
    The wvdial.conf file contains all the correct settings ie. uname, passwd, isp tel no, device (ttyS0)

    Ive also tried the following command
    Code:
    ./pppd /dev/ttys0 connect "chat -V" ATZ OK ATMO OK ATDT1260 CONNECT ogin <login name> assword <password>" modem defaultroute crtscts -detach
    but this just gives me a '>' prompt.

    Im completely new to the pppd command as ive previously used a GUI to connect to the internet.

    Anyone help me?

    Cheers
    r3b007

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    394
    i don't think any of these articles are to do with modem configuration, but it is all i can contribute here because i was more fortunate in that wvdial worked for me. though i wish it didn't so i would have learned what was going on properly. i'm sure i will get back to it eventaully.

    https://secure.linuxports.com/howto/ppp/

    http://www.yolinux.com/TUTORIALS/LinuxTutorialPPP.html

    http://www.io.com/support/docs/linux-ppp.html

    http://linux.dbw.org/minicom.html

    http://www.keypoint.com.au/knowledge.html

    http://www.portal.ca/support/linux/scriptdial.html
    Hmm...theres something a little peculiar here. Oh i see what it is! the sentence is talking about itself! do you see that? what do you mean? sentences can\'t talk! No, but they REFER to things, and this one refers directly-unambigeously-unmistakably-to the very sentence which it is!

  6. #6
    It's a gas!
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    699
    Thanks for the links but they didnt help alot
    I did a tail -f /var/log/messages on a seperate terminal and found the follwing results after typing ./pppd call ppp0 in the first terminal
    Code:
    pppd 2.4.1 started by root, uid 0
    WvDial: Internet dialer version 1.41
    Initialising modem
    Sending: ATZ
    Modem not responding
    Connect script failed
    Exit
    Obviously the modem is working ok as im online now on my other OS.

    Heres the contents of /etc/wvdial.conf
    Code:
    [Modem0]
    Modem=/dev/ttyS0
    Baud=115200
    SetVolume=1
    DialCommand=ATDT
    Init1=ATZ
    FlowControl=CRTSCTS
    [Dialer Freeserve]
    Phone=***
    Password=***
    UserName=***
    Stupid Mode=1
    Inherits=Modem0
    Anyone else any ideas?

  7. #7
    er0k
    Guest
    /me knows very little about modem configuration, sorry reboot

  8. #8
    It's a gas!
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    699
    np er0k, ive posted on another forum too so hopefully someone can help

  9. #9
    It's a gas!
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    699
    I got it sorted guys so no need for any more replies.

    Cheers all

  10. #10
    er0k
    Guest
    but i want to reply ..

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •