IP address of your firewall?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: IP address of your firewall?

IP address of your firewall?

hey im a total nooblet when it comes to firewalls but i want to enable a firewall when i connect to IRC so i click File>Options>-Connect>Firewall and i check the radio box for "use firewall" but then the check boxes for protocol i dont know what to do. whats my hostname,username, password, and port for my firewall is my question
    btw- i am using the default firewall that comes with XP. if you suggest i should get another one ill download another one.
    i hope this question makes sense =]

I'd definitely reccommend getting a better firewall. The one bundled with XP is really total crap. If you don't want to spend any money, try Tiny Personal firewall or ZoneAlarm. Your firewall will be in effect, and you may not need to modify settings in IRC, unless you're having problems with its operation.

Corn

i have Polaris IRC but i need to find the hostname of my firewall, because i want to connect to irc through my firewall..i hope im making sense
    -Simo

If you just get ZoneAlarm or TPF or whichever other firewall you want, just run it. You likely will not need to change settings in your IRC program, as you can set permissions with those firewalls. Mine runs fine, and I haven't done anything within my IRC client.

Corn

i read that connecting through a firewall in IRC can mask or change your IP address. that is why i would like to connect to irc through a firewall
    -Simo

Connect through a proxy server if you want to change your IP. Firewalls are designed with different things in mind. Just search Google for free proxy servers. At the end of the day, though, you can be traced. Don't assume that you can't be found by using proxies.

Corn

im going to copy some text from a site i was reading about so you can catch my idea

[How to spoof / hide your identity on the IRC]