Cisco Cable Router uBR924

Thread: Cisco Cable Router uBR924

Cisco Cable Router uBR924

I recently purchased this cable modem/router to use for my home network. I have NO experience with network and I figured that this would be a good way for me to learn. I've looked on Cisco's website and downloaded all the instruction guides but I'm still lost. I really would like to get it online, configure LAN/WAN IP and some forwarders. If anybody could help me out I'd really appreciate it.

\"Success is my only option, failure is not\" - Eminem

Uhhmm...have you plugged it in yet?
    Sorry, but I couldn't resist. I think you will find many people who can help you here but you will at least need to be more specific than "what do I do?"
    I glanced at it and it looks like a regular old router, you should be able to plug in the coax into the back, and connect an ethernet cable (cat5e, straight through) to your adapter on the back of your computer(s).
    What exactly have you tried and what has happened?

sorry for not being clear...

i already connected my cable line to the router and i was able to hyperterminal into the console. Unfortunately i do not know any cisco commands and how to configure it.. this is waht i'm looking for help with.

cali forn i a
    when you first log in there should be some commands you can use. All or most consoles reply to "help" so try typing that in, that should spit out some commands you can use and maybe a line of what it does. Play around with those commands and see what happens. Also, go to google and look up ur brand of router and ur sure to find some pages and manuals on what ur router can do. You just gotta search around and see what kinda commands r out there. My best bet though is find a manual or a couple pages on google. What kinda router is it? Model #???

You definitely need to provide the model number, that can make a difference about how you go about configuring the router...

Secondly, at the command prompt type '?'