HDD capacity prob
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: HDD capacity prob

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    83

    HDD capacity prob

    hi

    i have 1 hard disk 20GB with 2 parts C and D
    they should be 10 each but when i check the capacity of
    partC:13,9 GB
    uesed:1.10 GB
    free:12.8GB
    -------------
    partD:4.65 GB
    uesed:1.37
    free:3.27
    --------------
    i tried to get em back to the normal capacity 10GB for each by formatting them all but the problem remain

    i scaned the system with Norton Anti Virus and Anti Trojan they said system is clean
    how can i get that messing capasity?and wat cause the problem?
    OS: WINME
    disk drive:GENERIC IDE DISK TYPE 47(that wat the Device Manger said)

    thanx n advance

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    3,747
    How did you partition the hard disk? Fdisk.
    =

  3. #3
    Old Fart
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    1,658
    Check out Partition Magic and save your data...no FDISK (which is the command for creating partitions, not FORMAT), no mess, no fuss.
    Al
    It isn't paranoia when you KNOW they're out to get you...

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    3,747
    Yeah I would definitely suggest something like Partition Magic.

    I'm thinking that if he Fdisked that he might of messed up somewhere in the partitions size.
    =

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    485
    coolcamel, I don't think you have lost any of your HDD capacity.

    It depends what you mean by 'Mb' i.e. 1000*1000 or 1024*1024!
    HDD manafactures use the first one, whereas your PC uses the second, which is about a 5% difference. Bit dishonest if you ask me

    As to splitting your HDD down the middle, what you need to do is to use fdisk.
    Delete your existing partions, and recreate them - you'll be able to get a bit more than 9Gb out of both of them.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    83

    hi, sorry am late

    i did not make the partion ,i bought it like that .
    not a trade mark ( custom made).and it was 10 and 10 .
    i thought capacity of C will be 13.9+(4.65 )in case if i delete the (D=4..65 GB).

    but C capacity still the same(C=13.9GB).i used Fdisk to delete the D.

    now what?any help.

    coolcamel

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    3,747
    Why don't you try to either do what allenb suggested, which is to use partion magic. Or go back into Fdisk delte all partitions, then redo them. make one partion %50 of the total disk and do the same with the other. Don foget to make a logical dos drive in the second partition.
    =

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    83

    thanks for ur time ppl

    okah ,
    thats waht am going to do: (pls correct me if am wrong)

    1- i will erase the partion by using Fdisk
    2- i will install winxp
    3- then am going to make the partion by using( Partition Magic).
    i havnt done that befor ,so if i missed somthing up there pls say it .
    thanks 4 ur time ppl.

    coolcamel

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    3,747
    Your gonna have to have a partion before you can install XP.

    Use a bootable floppy for your computer. If you don't have one to www.bootdisk.com . Turn off your computer-->put the floppy in the A: drive--> Power on the computer. then what you want to do is get to the command prompt. Type fdisk. It should then bring you to a screen asking you if you want to enable large disk support. Select yes. You will then have several options.

    1.Create a new partition
    2.Create a logical dos drive in the extended partition.
    3.Delete a partition.
    4.View partition information.

    It will be something similiar to that. What you want to do is delete a dos partition. So select a number that corresponds to that. Then select the drive and delete it. I believe that you have to restart your computer then. Keep the A: disk in the drive and reboot. Get back to Fdisk again, but this time you want ot create a new partition. Select the number corresponding to that. Since your not to experienced with this I would suggest using all available disk space. It will then do a couple things.

    Next, reboot the computer with floppy still in the drive. However do not go to Fdisk this time. Instead when you get to a command prompt which should look something like this c:> type format c:
    then select yes.

    After Hard Disk is formatted install you Windows XP.

    Hope I helped you.
    =

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides