Easy to Answer C++ Question...
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Easy to Answer C++ Question...

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    56

    Easy to Answer C++ Question...

    For Everyone Other Than Me...

    I looked around, and I think that this is the correct area to post this.

    I am in the very early stages of a C++ How to... tutorial, and I am already stuck. I have written the source code and I don't know how to compile it. Do I need a seperate program to do this, or what?

    Thanks in advance

    Raccoon
    -r.p.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    282
    You need a compiler, there are plenty to choose from. If your just starting out and are making DOS programs, I recomend DJGPP, you can get it for free here

    http://www.delorie.com/djgpp/

    good luck

  3. #3
    Doc d00dz Attackin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    661
    Here is a great web site to learn or help you, check it out;

    http://www.cprogramming.com/

    More links:
    http://www.intap.net/~drw/cpp/
    http://www.cs.wustl.edu/~schmidt/C++/

    Cya
    First you listen, then you do, finally you teach.
    Duck Hunting Chat
    VirtualConvenience
    RROD

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    56
    Thanks for the quick reply. Lets see if it happens again.

    I am at: http://www.delorie.com/djgpp/zip-picker.cgi

    Do I want to download: gpp323b.zip

    It says C++ Compiler, but I am just being paranoid because I am new to this.

    [Edit] : Thanks for the site d00dz Attackin. It seems to be more user friendly than the other site... (no offense). ;D

    How do I set up the compiler?
    From the bin directory of your installation: Create a bcc32.cfg file, which will set the compiler options for the Include and Lib paths, and add these lines:
    -I"c:\Borland\Bcc55\include"
    -L"c:\Borland\Bcc55\lib"
    Create ilink32.cfg and add this line:
    -L"c:\Borland\Bcc55\lib"
    Can someone put that in Laman's Terms for me?
    ie. Where's the bin directory. How do I create a bcc32.cfg?

    Raccoon
    -r.p.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    282
    Borlands a good product too Ive used both.

    bin is short for binaries. In the folder where you downloaded and saved borland to, is another folder, a subfolder called bin.

    Say you put borland here C:\Borland, then bin will be C:\Borland\bin

    To create bcc32.cfg is simple, open up notepad, or your favorite text editor. Copy and paste the lines. Choose file>SaveAs, and in quotes put the filename "bcc32.cfg" and save this to your bin directory.

    EDIT: You may find Dev-C++ easier then both, It has a graphical interface and requires no aditional configuration settings. http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/d...devcpp4980.exe

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    594
    First, yes, you need a program which is called a compiler... it takes all those commands you have written and turns it into a program....

    Second, I'd have to go with journy101 on the Dev-C++... that's what I used for about a last year to learn C++ or so and I was very happy with it. The program itself has a nice GUI (Graphical User Interface) that make requires NO previous knowledge of C++ to use, and most importantly its free .... but as of about two weeks ago I switched to Visual Studio (mostly for VB but C++ too) and I think I'm in heaven....

    = Cheers, jag291 =

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    12
    I dont know how good this compiler is anymore but you could use Dev-C++... and once you finish up DOS programs u can code windows programs too. The link for it is:

    http://bloodshed.net/

    Enjoy!
    Whoever said Assembly was dead?

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    282
    >>I dont know how good this compiler is anymore but you could use Dev-C++...

    still very good, for Windows programs however you need a GUI toolkit like wxWindows to do anything usefull (Or use a bunch of createwindow calls) because suport for resource scripts was removed. I contacted them about this several times and have recently been told resource script suport is comming back, with a resource editor.

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2
    I think if your a beginner and are useing windows you should get MSVC++ it has a easy grafic interface.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides