Linux distro - Page 2
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17

Thread: Linux distro

  1. #11
    rebmeM roineS enilnOitnA steve.milner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    1,018
    Originally posted here by i2c
    Yea like some of the members above have said single floppy disk bootable linux's distros maybe of some use to you, theres a directory on google that has some usful links in it

    http://directory.google.com/Top/Comp...y_Sized/?tc=1/
    The only problem with the CD ones is that I think (dont quote me) that if you want to install a program you have to write a new CD each time, not excellent but not a major problem
    Nah, don't need a new CD at all.

    Just make your existing HD /home and install program to ~/bin

    Problem solved.

    Steve

    Knoppix CD & USB pendrive - forget about owning a 'puter, just borrow other people's!
    IT, e-commerce, Retail, Programme & Project Management, EPoS, Supply Chain and Logistic Services. Yorkshire. http://www.bigi.uk.com

  2. #12
    Kwiep
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    924
    How about good old slackware ? I got it running on my old 486 with 80 mb hd and between 2 and 8 mb RAM worked fine, just leave out the fancy stuff.

    I don't know why vampelle got negged here, but menuetOS does exist. It's an OS entirly written in assembler and because of that fast and small. It fits on a 1.4 mb diskette and has a "graphical UI with 16 M colours up to 1280x1024", altough I doubt that will work with the graphical card that works in a 486. The lower resolutions work fine. The official site is http://www.menuetos.org/, if I recall correctly.

    p.s.
    so that's nothing fancy at all. With a second thought I think my hd was 120 mb, but it would still fit. Kernel sources have to be left out, but I thought I had enough space for a compiler. Compiling the system itself on the machine with a new (2.4. or something) kernel is not a good idea, because it would take a year or two. So the bare.i kernel that comes with slackware is good. I used slackware 8.1.
    Double Dutch

  3. #13
    gentoo linux is pretty small go to www.linuxiso.com.

    hackohreak56

  4. #14
    Kwiep
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    924
    gentoo linux will take a few years to compile on a 486 andthere's no precompiled version for 486 (if I recall correctly)
    Double Dutch

  5. #15
    Trumpet-Eared Gentoo Freak
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    992
    To install from the build CD, you will need to have a 486+ processor and ideally at least 64 Megabytes of RAM. (Gentoo Linux has been successfully built with 64MB of RAM + 64MB of swap space, but the build process is awfully slow under those conditions.)
    I took this from here : http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-x86-install.xml

    It seems possible if you use the stage-3, although it would be slow and take some time.
    Anyway i got an old P1 here, and that one will become Gentoo nr. 3 in this house

    Just my thoughts,
    Come and check out our wargame-site @ http://www.rootcontest.org
    We chat @ irc.smdc-network.org #lobby

  6. #16
    Kwiep
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    924
    it already takes awefully long on a 486 with 64 mb ram, worm wood has 4 and 64 mb swapspace, worwood has 120 mb hd, so half should be swapspace ?
    :s
    Double Dutch

  7. #17
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    325
    If you are gonna compile on a 486, set it up and go to sleep, go to the pub, get laid, and drive around the world three times and by the time you come back, it should be ready for you.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •