Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Cisco PIX point to point T1 configuration

Cisco PIX point to point T1 configuration

Hey, what's up? First I'd like to introduce myself. My name is Chris and yes I'm a noob. I was hoping someone here could help me out. We are currently trying to configure our PIX in Texas to our PIX in NY through a point to point T1 line. I personally don't have ANY experience with Cisco but the guys at work do. It seems that they cannot get it to communicate. I know this is not much detail but any help would be appreciated. I tried finding information on Cisco's site but was unsuccessful. If anyone here has done this before, I would love to hear how you set it up. Thanks alot!!! I appreciate the help in advance!!

I'm sure more information will be needed so just tell me what you need to know and I'll get on top of it.

Thanks

Chris

Point to Point T1's are a pretty simple thing. Could you post a sample config? In my experience 90% of the time when a P to P T1 doesn't come up right away, it's something with the telco. Check the line cards at the DMARC to see if there are any alarm lights. If both ends look good and you can give a little info about the circuit I'd be happy to step you through it.

I have configured several of these, I would need more information to help. Have you verified the T1 is up from end to end. What type of T1 do you have? Do you have connectivity between both ends without the PIXes? Are the T1's connected to a public network?
    Work... Some days it's just not worth chewing through the restraints...

AO Ancient: Team Leader
    Ok.... To start with I will assume that the T1 is good. That, of course is a huge assumption on a new install of a T1. I have some 10-15 point to point T1's in my WAN and only about 4 have ever been properly installed and provisioned by SBC.....