a damned form
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: a damned form

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    393

    Angry a damned form

    hey guyz

    i cant make a simple form work.
    It is located at http://www.origindia.com/form.htm

    As you see there, i have made everything with the buttons and text and all.
    I just can't make the damn thing submit.

    It's a little urgent , so i'd need a quickie of a reply.
    The form needs to be emailed to: sales@origindia.com

    Also, dont give me a CGI solution. The problem is that i want a simple HTML code.
    If somebody can just edit the source of that file, and attach the thing in the reply, or just mail me over at mairu@bigfoot.com


    Thanks
    \"I have a 386 Pentium.\"

  2. #2
    Senior Member Zonewalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    949
    you seem to have commented out the requisite arguments in your FORM tag
    <FORM METHOD="POST" ACTION="--WEBBOT-SELF--">

    the "" surround the bits where you pass the argument to submit to an email address. Lose the comment tags and it should work.

    Z

    <edit> I'm not actually sure what you're doing withthe web bot mind .... I suspect that you may want to have a look at code for that too
    Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    393
    hiya,

    i dont know what im doing, that's the problem.
    This is what freaking Frontpage did. I need to know what to strike off, and where to make the changes.

    should i remove this :



    \"I have a 386 Pentium.\"

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    100
    o.k. i'm not pretty sure about this, but i found a webpage where the code is working
    this is your code:
    <FORM METHOD="POST" ACTION="--WEBBOT-SELF--">




    this is code from http://faculty.rmc.edu/eshowalt/form...test_page.htm:
    <form method="POST" action="_vti_bin/shtml.dll/form_and_webbot_test_page.htm" onsubmit="return FrontPage_Form1_Validator(this)" name="FrontPage_Form1" webbot-action="--WEBBOT-SELF--">


    look there is a difference between the action statement:
    you write action="--WEBBOT-SELF--"
    now the code working is action="_vti_bin/shtml.dll/form_and_webbot_test_page.htm"
    the "--WEBBOT-SELF--" statement is under webbot-action.

    this might work...
    \"Knowledge is the Real Power\"

  5. #5
    Senior Member Zonewalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    949
    ok.. anyone else having problems with AO??? this is the third time I've had to try posting this.

    briefly Invader (cos now I'm losing patience with the amount of times I've written this). Your code here

    <FORM METHOD="POST" ACTION="--WEBBOT-SELF--">


    replace with something like

    <form method=POST action="mailto:sales@origindia.com subject=Web site Order" enctype="text/plain"
    onSubmit="window.alert('Thank you for your order! You will be contacted shortly by return email concerning payment options.')">

    Modify as you wish... e.g. you can lose the onSubmit argument and also the subject parameter if you like.


    If you want to keep your web bot, look at the page meister has provided (lose the final colon on the link otherwise it won't work), that code would also seem to work. I have no experience with web bots so you may have to google around a bit as regards the finer points. Unless anyone else has any experience they can bring to bear with the question?

    Sorry this reply isn't as explanatory as previous attempts... I've just lost patience with web servers tonight.

    Z
    Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    393

    Unhappy

    Hiya zonewalker,

    I already tried that.
    Now the problem with that is , when somebody clicks submit, it brings on the javascript alert window, with saying "thank you for your order and all", plus when you click okay, it launced outlook express giving you a privacy warning.

    Try the same at : http://www.origindia.com/form.htm

    I replaced it with yer code and see what happens with that.


    i hope this gets solved soon.

    -vader
    \"I have a 386 Pentium.\"

  7. #7
    Senior Member Zonewalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    949
    yeah the privacy warning... you're not going to be able to get away from that I'm afraid.... it's built in to IE/OE - thats why I wondered if you wanted to keep your web bot.

    As I said... if you do want to keep the web bot take a look at the link meister provided it may be the way you want to go

    Z
    Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •