Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Self-taught or classroom-taught??

Question Self-taught or classroom-taught??

I've been interested in security, programming, networking, and various other related topics for some time now. I have faithfully read various AO posts, every 2600 issue from the last 5 years, and any other article I could find, and have been in awe of the various knowledge that the authors and AO posters possess. But a question occured to me that I've been pondering for sometime...

Are more of these people self-taught or classroom taught??

Personally, I plan on being a combo of the two, class-taught for some, self-taught for other stuff. I'm just curious as to what others have done and how they have acquired their knowledge.

Any comments appreciated...

alph

Personally I think it is a comination of both...right now I'm in college learning what I can majoring in Digital Technology and hopefully getting a minor in Information Sciences and Technology to get some schooling with all of that...plus learning what I can just working with computers and coming to AO to absorb some info. So yeah, it's definitely a combo for me, but I'm sure others have gone about it in somewhat of a different way. Any thoughts?
    Carrie: Someone\'s definition of what constitutes cheating is in direct proportion to how much they themselves want to cheat.
    Miranda: That\'s moral relativism!
    Carrie: I prefer to think of it as quantum cheating.

rebmeM roineS enilnOitnA steve.milner's Avatar
    Mainly self taught but with a BSc in programming & systems management & change.

The really usefull stuff is self taught.
    IT, e-commerce, Retail, Programme & Project Management, EPoS, Supply Chain and Logistic Services. Yorkshire. http://www.bigi.uk.com

Ninja Code Monkey
    I myself am primarily self taught and am just now taking some classes in college.