Thread: Good Site for Newbies

Thumbs up Good Site for Newbies

I've been into this whole security/hacking thing for years now and still consider myself a newbie. Below is a link to the Happy Hacker site, where a bunch of my hacking/security questions were initially answered. I haven't visited it for a few years or so because for the longest time nothing new was posted on it. But after reading an article on WiFi hacking that someone had linked in a post here, re-realized the site's worth. For my fellow newbies out there, if your confused, lost, and don't know where to start, this is a good place...

www.happyhacker.org

It's got everything from texts for the absolute beginner on up to more advanced security/hacking topics. To really learn a bunch more, consider checking out Carolyn's two books, "The Happy Hacker" (which I have) and "Uberhacker" (which I want to get).

Good luck to all,
    alph

I agree this site has helped me alot also. Uberhacker is a good book it expands on happy hacker and starts on a few new subjects as well as including references to many sites and books along the way that will help you on your quest to knowledge.

PeacE
    -BoB
    #!/usr/local/bin/perl -s-- -export-a-crypto-system-sig -RSA-in-3-lines-PERL
    ($k,$n)=@ARGV;$m=unpack(H.$w,$m.\"\\0\"x$w),$_=`echo \"16do$w 2+4Oi0$d*-^1[d2%
    Sa2/d0<X+d*La1=z\\U$n%0]SX$k\"[$m*]\\EszlXx++p|dc`,s/^.|\\W//g,print pack(\'H*\'
    ,$_)while read(STDIN,$m,($w=2*$d-1+length($n||die\"$0 [-d] k n\\n\")&~1)/2)

What about the er, younger of us. I read a lot of material everyday from here to Phrack, but that is online. I am not so sure my parents would let me purchase it. I would not even mind paying the money. I find it a bit hard to be young.