Legally "Cracking" Web Sage II

Thread: Legally "Cracking" Web Sage II

Question Legally "Cracking" Web Sage II

I use the term "cracking" very lightly because all I'm trying to do is recover a password. I noticed other people on here are quite serious about causing trouble when they use the term. Here's my situation, hope you guys can offer some advice:

As an intern, I'm overseeing our LAN for the nonprofit organization I work at (because no one else here has the tech knowledge), something that's still very new to me. As it turns out, one of our client computers on the network has the Web Sage II program (I have no idea what this is, and Google offers no help as it seems). I tried opening the program to see what it is and if we still need it, but I'm immediately prompted to either enter a password or exit the program. However, the password is for the previous user of this computer, who has since left the organization, so the new employee using it of course does not have access to the program as a result. So here we are with a program still under the previous employees' user name and password, and no way to retrieve it. What's embarassing is that I don't even know if this program is of any use!

So, I tried looking up password cracking software, and encountered Brutus. I immediately took to searching this site to find out more information (lest I fall into a hacker trap), and load and behold, there's no legal use for it (I know, "duh", but bear with me, this is all quite new to me). My naive assumption was that since it was our software, there would be no harm in cracking the password. So today I'm a little less naive and I know to stay the heck away from that.

But now that I can't find a website for this program, and cannot legally use cracking software on the password, what should I do? Is this a hopeless cause for which I should uninstall the whole program and forget about it, or is there an alternative?