Connection Problems
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Connection Problems

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    3,747

    Connection Problems

    Right now I have three computers hooked to a Linksys BFSR41 Router sharing a 512K DSL connection. One computer has Win 98, one XP Pro, and the other XP home.

    The problem is that the one with XP home will only download so long then the download stops. For example I was trying to download a game update for Delta Force, when after I got a couple megs downloaded, the time remaining, and percent downloaded stopped moving. I don't know what the problem. It just won't download anything from the net.
    =

  2. #2
    Senior Member DeadAddict's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    2,583
    Have you tried to do the update on one of your other computers and see if it does the same thing ?

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    3,747
    I have no problem on my other machines, jus that one.

    It downloads about 2 mb then quits. It looks like its downloading but its not.

    My other machines will download.

    [edit] ok, my other machine just now started to do the same thing[/edit]

    One more thing. I have a Comapaq Presario notebook, and I can't get any pages with it. If I type in www.yahoo.com, I can see on the bottom of IE where it translated yahoo.com to a IP address but it never opens it up. I also can't ping anthything. It says that I'm connected but I don't think I really am.

    I am using DCHP starting with 192.168.1.100 and up to 50 more IPS ( I only have 3 comps right now) Subent mask is 255.255.255.0.

    I just can't figure it out.
    =

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    3,747
    I tried working on this thing all day, but still had no success.

    I reset the router, and redid all my connections. I deleted my network connections and created new ones. But I still can't get the stupid thing to work. I'm getting ready to toss it out the window.
    =

  5. #5
    Senior Member DeadAddict's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    2,583
    Well you did everything that I would of done and I am still puzzled I know it is something stupid like the plug is lose and not sitting tight in the port.

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    594
    Umm.. when you say 'download' do you mean like a normal download from a browser or do you mean like a download through a special program just for updating a specific game.. because as of so far, it sounds more like a software configuration issue rather than hardware...

    jag291

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    3,747
    Well I can dowload through Kazaa but a FTP, HTTP, or an update through the gaming software will only work for a few seconds before it stops downloading.
    =

  8. #8
    Senior Member DeadAddict's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    2,583
    Have you tried using a different browser

  9. #9
    Banned
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    594
    You have all your windows updates downloaded? And like DeadAddict said, have you tried another browser.. *points at Mozilla*

    And if it's really bothering you, why don't you use one of your other computers to download the file and then just transfer it over to that XP Home computer over the network you have?

    But I'm still looking for an answer... post your computer specs, just curious what kind of box it is...

  10. #10
    Senior Member DeadAddict's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    2,583
    I am thinking Internet Explorer some how got messed up looking for more information on this

    Could it be the winsock or DLL's are corrupt

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •