Taking screenshots...
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Taking screenshots...

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    344

    Taking screenshots...

    This is a stupid question, but if i ever have a problem with my computer and i want to take a screen shot of the error message that gets displayed, what button do i hit? I have windows XP. Thanks for your time...
    Support your right to arm bears.


    ^^This was the first video game which i played on an old win3.1 box

  2. #2
    Senior Member DeadAddict's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    2,583
    Take a screen shot (use the "Print Scrn" key on your PC)
    Open any image-editing program, such as Microsoft Paint.
    Create a new file and paste in the screen shot.
    Save the new image with an easy-to-remember name such as "wallpaper.jpg."
    Close your image-editing program

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    4,786
    or you could paste it directly into word and use "file>>send to>>mail recipient" to get it of to tech support
    Bukhari:V3B48N826 “The Prophet said, ‘Isn’t the witness of a woman equal to half of that of a man?’ The women said, ‘Yes.’ He said, ‘This is because of the deficiency of a woman’s mind.’”

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    10
    If it's some fatal error and yourPrint Scrn button doesn't work, you can use the old tehnique of simple photographing your monitor with a camera. I know I guy did such thing...

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    207
    Originally posted here by STB
    If it's some fatal error and yourPrint Scrn button doesn't work, you can use the old tehnique of simple photographing your monitor with a camera. I know I guy did such thing...
    riiiiiiiiiiiiiiiight, lol

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    877
    ("fatal error and print screen just for no reason at all stops working")... LMAO it would help if you or your friend would stop eating right above your computer equipment which is where the crums are most likely to drop and useing the cd-tray as a cup holder is also a bad idea. And I do hope you realize that windows often comes with a onscreen keyboard so the camera wouldn't be needed unless you and your friend want to film yourselves doing stuff

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    748
    In windows, alt-printscreen captures just the active window. This helps if you are using a large resolution and only want to capture part of the screen.

    You can also capture a termserver window by doing ctrl-alt-'-'

    the '-' being the minus key that is on the numeric keypad...

    For my laptop that does not have a numeric keypad I have to hit ctrl-alt-(fn-o)

    which is ctrl and alt, along with the function key and the alphanmuric 'o'. This is on a toshiba..

  8. #8
    AO übergeek phishphreek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    4,325
    You can do all that above... or use something like printkey.

    It is a nice little freeware utility. Add it to your startup items and everytime you press the printkey button, you can copy, paste, print, crop, change size, change the colors, save, etc.

    Pretty nifty little utility.

    http://www.freewareweb.com/cgi-bin/archive.cgi?ID=292

    It does use 4696k of memory though... and that is just running in the systray. (that is on a WinXP box with sp1 and all available patches.)

    If you have the memory to spare... its well worth it... or just add a quick launch icon for it.
    Start it when you need it and kill it when you don't.
    Quitmzilla is a firefox extension that gives you stats on how long you have quit smoking, how much money you\'ve saved, how much you haven\'t smoked and recent milestones. Very helpful for people who quit smoking and used to smoke at their computers... Helps out with the urges.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    344
    ok thanks for your help guys
    Support your right to arm bears.


    ^^This was the first video game which i played on an old win3.1 box

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •