/mnt/window where are you?
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: /mnt/window where are you?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    72

    /mnt/window where are you?

    ok, so i just wiped out my hd(b/c i screwed it up installing linux) and i installed windows. after i got enough courage to try installing again, i did. i installed the newest version of red hat linux. installation went great everything went as planned. when i tried to reboot and go into windows i get this error:

    Windows XP Setup - Missing HAL.DLL

    Error Message: Cannot Find \Windows\System32\hal.dll

    ouch i say....i screwed it again....well, i went researching on google and i found this site: http://www.kellys-korner-xp.com/xp_haldll_missing.htm which told me that in a dual boot situation xp might change some lines in the boot.ini and i would get this error. so i said to myself i'll walk on over to /mnt/windows to access windows and solve my problems. well, I COUDLNT FIND /mnt/windows/ ouch i say ouch

    after a few more attempts at researching i found this site on google:
    http://www.reallylinux.com/docs/toptip3.shtml

    i followed its tips, i did "mkdir /mnt/win" and then when i tried to do "mount -t vfat /dev/hda1 /mnt/win" i get this error:
    mount: /dev/hda1 already mounted or /mnt/win busy
    mount: according to mtab, /dev/hda1 is mounted on /boot

    i read more and i see i hafta use this command instead: "mount -t ntfs /dev/hda1 /mnt/win" but i get this error:
    mount: fs type ntfs not supported by kernel

    now, that site up there says if i get more errors try the command "mount" hers the output:
    /dev/hda3 on / type ext3 (rw)
    none on /proc type proc (rw)
    usbdevfs on /proc/bus/usb type usbdevfs (rw)
    /dev/hda1 on /boot type ext3 (rw)
    none on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,gid=5,mode=620)
    none on /dev/shm type tmpfs (rw)

    now, im wondering...how am i gonna mount to windows and fix my boot.ini...? please help!!!!
    http://www.outwar.com/page.php?x=812668

    i brake for flipper babies

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    723
    you may want to try what was suggested here at the end of the thread and if it doesn't work check out the link i posted in the thread http://www.antionline.com/showthread...hreadid=247497
    Do unto others as you would have them do unto you.
    The international ban against torturing prisoners of war does not necessarily apply to suspects detained in America\'s war on terror, Attorney General John Ashcroft told a Senate oversight committee
    -- true colors revealed, a brown shirt and jackboots

  3. #3
    AO Curmudgeon rcgreen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    2,716
    windows doesn't appear to be on /dev/hda1. What partition is it on?
    When you know that, mount it at /mnt/win.
    I came in to the world with nothing. I still have most of it.

  4. #4
    rebmeM roineS enilnOitnA steve.milner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    1,018
    D00d

    In linux
    su -
    parted /dev/hda

    You'll get some messages
    print
    PM me or post the results & I'll see if I can help
    IT, e-commerce, Retail, Programme & Project Management, EPoS, Supply Chain and Logistic Services. Yorkshire. http://www.bigi.uk.com

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    72
    ok, so it turns out windows is on hda2 which i find odd cause i installed linux on hda2....anywase, now i need to edit boot.ini, i can find boot.ini, i can cat it but i cant edit it! permission denied....yes even when im su.....now i need more help!
    http://www.outwar.com/page.php?x=812668

    i brake for flipper babies

  6. #6
    rebmeM roineS enilnOitnA steve.milner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    1,018
    Originally posted here by sniper0wolf0
    ok, so it turns out windows is on hda2 which i find odd cause i installed linux on hda2....anywase, now i need to edit boot.ini, i can find boot.ini, i can cat it but i cant edit it! permission denied....yes even when im su.....now i need more help!
    Try init 1 to eneter single user mode and then editing boot.ini

    If that doesn't work obtain a knoppix CD and boot from that - That should do the trick.

    [edit]

    Where did you find boot.ini?

    [/edit]
    IT, e-commerce, Retail, Programme & Project Management, EPoS, Supply Chain and Logistic Services. Yorkshire. http://www.bigi.uk.com

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    72
    Try init 1 to eneter single user mode and then editing boot.ini
    i dont get what you mean by this...

    If that doesn't work obtain a knoppix CD and boot from that - That should do the trick.
    i dont see how this can work


    and i found boot.ini in root on the windows partition
    http://www.outwar.com/page.php?x=812668

    i brake for flipper babies

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •