Seriously Annoying Popups - Page 2
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21

Thread: Seriously Annoying Popups

  1. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    485
    This has been discussed before on this forum, but if you are running WinXP, then goto
    Start -> Run, and type "services.msc" .

    Look for "messenger", and change the Startup type to disabled.

    I think it is this that is transmitting the pop ups you have described.

  2. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    4,786
    the type of pop-ups their reffering to dont get threw a properly configured firewall.
    Bukhari:V3B48N826 “The Prophet said, ‘Isn’t the witness of a woman equal to half of that of a man?’ The women said, ‘Yes.’ He said, ‘This is because of the deficiency of a woman’s mind.’”

  3. #13
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    1,302
    Well I know your using a firewall so just configure your Firewall to not accept anything coming in from Port 80. I have Zone Alarm and I don't get that many pop-ups I mean think abou the ones that Yahoo usually emits I don't get any of those. So I don't know you could do either of those. http://scan.sygatetech.com/ I believe that you can test your firewall here.

  4. #14
    Senior Member VicE$DoS$'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    209
    Dom,

    By any chance have you downloaded BearShare lately??
    Let me know if you have mate.

    Cheers
    V$D$
    I remember when Nihil was ickle. Does that mean I'm old?

  5. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    420
    If I let the messenger service run I get a lot of annoying pop-ups from the net send command. I disabled that service and all those annoying pop-ups went away.

    Cheers,

    D
    If you spend more on coffee than on IT security, you will be hacked. What\'s more, you deserve to be hacked.
    -- former White House cybersecurity adviser Richard Clarke

  6. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    36
    Hi again - a general plea for help - is anyone else using McAffee Firewall v3.03 ? If so can they advise me how to block port 80 as was advised by Whizkid and Tedob ?

  7. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    344
    If so can they advise me how to block port 80 as was advised by Whizkid and Tedob ?
    whoa! dont block your http port, you wont be able to use the internet! You will keep on recieving a 404 error. Tedob said:

    the type of pop-ups their reffering to dont get threw a properly configured firewall
    Tedob didnt say block port 80, he just said to properly configure your firewall. I have never used McAffee Firewall v3.03, so i cant help you out there. However, if i were you, i would dump McAffee Firewall v3.03 and get Outpost Firewall 1.0. You can get that here:

    http://www.agnitum.com/download/outpost1.html

    Download the Old Outpost for free there and get it running. i think that you will be satisfied with the results. It has a built in pop-up blocker and i think it works quite well. Also, get another pop-up blocked called POW. i think you can get it from download.com. Go to download.com and type in POW and download it. Anyways, with all of this you should be pretty immune to pop-ups. Hope this helped

    EDIT:

    Well I know your using a firewall so just configure your Firewall to not accept anything coming in from Port 80.
    Wizkid, if you do that you wont be able to acces any http sites...
    Support your right to arm bears.


    ^^This was the first video game which i played on an old win3.1 box

  8. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    57
    Dom,

    I recently had similar problems with my wifes laptop. She has the mcafee firewall on it. I ran Ad-Aware and Spybot but still had a problem with a program called infus.exe. It is an executeable that was polling out for more pop-ups!!! I then downloaded and ran "HiJack This" from :

    http://www.tomcoyote.org/hjt/

    And with that i was able to track the little buggers down and kill 'em. Once I found them I i had "HiJack This" fix the problem, then booted up in Safe mode and deleted the offending files. (Make sure you look over the log before you tell HJT to fix anything. It does not do the auto detect stuff like Adaware and spybot. If your not careful it will shut down all of your processes. Look through the log and you'll see what I mean, then tell it which ones to fix.)

    All of that plus the new google toolbar (As previously mentioned) and nary a pop-up has raised it's ugly head in a week.

    Hope this helps
    \"If you take a starving dog in off the street and make him prosperous he will not bite you, this is the principle difference between a dog and a man\" - Mark Twain

  9. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    347
    you can try crazy browser.you will find it with google search.it is little bit slower but never any pop ups.good luck

  10. #20
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    889
    Well you have a few Alts to try one is Opera, the other is go to http:// www.google.com and install their tool bar it blocks popup's and a 3rd party if you get it there will not push their version of it. Googles version you can toggle popups at one click allow or not depending on the site. Do Not make things more comples then they are pple LOL
    I believe that one of the characteristics of the human race - possibly the one that is primarily responsible for its course of evolution - is that it has grown by creatively responding to failure.- Glen Seaborg

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides