Thread: Partitioning with Linux

Partitioning with Linux

I have honestly searched the site for this, as well as Google. However I have not found concrete information that I could apply to my situation.

When installing a Linux OS. I have read from manuals and online that it is a good idea to partition the OS in several different partitions. I have read that you should partition a SWAP partition about twice the size of your RAM. Not only this, but you should(for better performance), make two separate partitions equaling twice the amount of your RAM.

I have read to make a small partition for your root, so you can update your kernal quickly and easily. That you should make various other partitions to optimize Linux.

These sources say, "It is a good idea to make several partitions so one corrupted partition will only affect a small area, updating your kernel will not affect your data, etc., etc., etc.

I'm new to this. I take it that this makes sense, cause it does to me, but I honestly don't understand the reasoning behind it. I know what to do with the swap partition for my system, but that's about it....

How much space for which partition?? Which partitions to create??

I have 37GB partition. I have SuSE 8.2 Prof. I have 1024MB of RAM.

Please, any information about where I could locate a DETAILED tutorial on the rational and functionality, or your own personal opinion with this matter would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,
    Watcher
    \"The feeling of losing your mind is a terrible thing. But once it\'s gone, you\'re fine.\"
    Carrie Fisher

If it is a personal computer, not professional, multi-user, or a server,
    there's no reason you can't run just one partition, plus a swap.

The default install on many distributions will create a small partition,
    mounted at /root, for the kernel and a few related items. This is for
    historical reasons. Some older machines were very touchy about
    where the kernel was stored (below cylinder 1023).