cmd.exe
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: cmd.exe

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    11

    cmd.exe

    Hi

    Can anyone help.When my win 2000 system boot's i get the cmd.exe window with a small box in front of it,saying error 53.This happens everytime i boot my system.

  2. #2
    Jaded Network Admin nebulus200's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    1,356
    Are you on a SMS managed business network? I have seen SMS cause DOS windows to pop up during bootup. I don't know why, but I am wanting to say error 53 is a DNS error or a netbios service not running error (this one is more likely) (one of your services might not be running either because of being disabled or corrupted or your security settings might be getting in the way of mapping the drive). If I had to guess, SMS is trying to mount a network share and you aren't running the necessary services.


    /nebulus
    There is only one constant, one universal, it is the only real truth: causality. Action. Reaction. Cause and effect...There is no escape from it, we are forever slaves to it. Our only hope, our only peace is to understand it, to understand the 'why'. 'Why' is what separates us from them, you from me. 'Why' is the only real social power, without it you are powerless.

    (Merovingian - Matrix Reloaded)

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    11
    This is only a two system network.PTP.The other system is running win98.The small box that come's up has sex at the top of it.I have run every antivirus program on the system,and it is ok.The win 98 system is ok.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    205
    Is your PC set up to map to another server/pc wich is no longer there,,,
    I used to get similiar errors..IF so delete yout map and see what happens..

    Does it just say error 53 or is it followed by something else...like "file not found" maybe

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    4,786
    do a "find files or folders" for *sex*. also do a reg search for sex.
    when you find a file with this word, open the directory is in and see what else is there alse look in its sub directories.

    a list of the services running on your computer...and a netstat might show something. as nebulus200 pointed out this has to do with dns. if "net use" can not find its target you'll get an error 53. not that this is the case but there's a few worms that use net use in batch files to spread
    Bukhari:V3B48N826 “The Prophet said, ‘Isn’t the witness of a woman equal to half of that of a man?’ The women said, ‘Yes.’ He said, ‘This is because of the deficiency of a woman’s mind.’”

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    28
    howdies,

    try these links,maybe will be able to help

    http://vil.mcafee.com/dispVirus.asp?virus_k=100427

    http://securityresponse.symantec.com...c.flood.e.html

    someone having same problem and info taken from here

    http://www.annoyances.org/exec/forum...00/n1057891112
    \"it is better to stay silent and appear stupid then to speak and remove all doubt\"


  7. #7
    Just a Virtualized Geek MrLinus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Redondo Beach, CA
    Posts
    7,324
    *merged with duplicate thread. removed excess post*
    Goodbye, Mittens (1992-2008). My pillow will be cold without your purring beside my head
    Extra! Extra! Get your FREE copy of Insight Newsletter||MsMittens' HomePage

  8. #8
    Now, RFC Compliant! Noia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    1,210
    sounds like A Dialer or spyware trying to use your network without the services

    get AdAware or Spybot search and destroy
    With all the subtlety of an artillery barrage / Follow blindly, for the true path is sketchy at best. .:Bring OS X to x86!:.
    Og ingen kan minnast dei linne drag i dronningas andlet den fagre dag Då landet her kvilte i heilag fred og alle hadde kjærleik å elske med.

  9. #9
    Master-Jedi-Pimps0r & Moderator thehorse13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Washington D.C. area
    Posts
    2,883
    Every error 53 that I have seen on NT/W2K have been related to drive mappings that are no longer available or are incorrectly mapped. All you need to do is check around for places where mapping are setup and correct them or remove them. Go into Windows explorer and select Tools > then Map a drive and uncheck "reconnect at startup" on each drive until the error goes away. Trust me, this is your issue.

    Other places that mappings are done is in bat files but these can be anywhere. I'd start with windows explorer and then report back to us.

    Hope this helps.

    --TH13
    Our scars have the power to remind us that our past was real. -- Hannibal Lecter.
    Talent is God given. Be humble. Fame is man-given. Be grateful. Conceit is self-given. Be careful. -- John Wooden

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    11
    Thank's Everyone

    I found the problem,my system had a worm and it had been setup as a ftp server.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides