How to use XP's version of Telnet
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: How to use XP's version of Telnet

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    36

    Question How to use XP's version of Telnet

    Hi all

    I am the very definition of the novice hacker, and I've managed to get meself a tad stuck. Here goes.....

    I'm using XP Prof., and whilst reading through the "Happy Hacker" website (www.happyhacker.org) I came across a game that was advertised that involved using telnet. I thought I'd have a go and start to get a feel for what's involved in telnetting to a PC.

    I've got the telnet window open, and I've got the "Microsoft Telnet>" command prompt waiting, but I've been trying to enter the commands to start up a session with the other PC, but all I'm getting so far is an "Invalid command.type ?/help for help" message.

    The website that runs the game have helpfully created an applet window that demonstrates what the Telnet window should look like, and to cut a long story short, my telnet window, unlike the applet, doesn't have a menu bar. This made me wonder, is XP's version of telnet different to other versions ? If so, is there anywhere online I can visit to learn how to use it ?

    Any suggestions would be welcomed, thanx guys. BTW, I did run a search on the other forums before posting this, but didn't find anything that jumped out at me. Thought it would be easier to ask because when you're on crappy 56k dial up, it takes a long time to read a lot of irrelevant articles ! (Cue everyone getting their violins out).

    Thanks again

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    3,914
    when you see Microsoft Telnet> type open <hostname> <optional port>

    you can also just type telnet <hostname> <optional port> right off the bat.

    [Edit]
    Just so you know this is in the wrong forum. Tutorials is for original tutorials only.
    [/Edit]
    IT Blog: .:Computer Defense:.
    PnCHd (Pronounced Pinched): Acronym - Point 'n Click Hacked. As in: "That website was pinched" or "The skiddie pinched my computer because I forgot to patch".

  3. #3
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    877
    Yes its different. First of all just type "Telnet" not "Microsoft Telnet" cause whenever I see that I feel the need to connect to stuff with Putty while throwing wet blobs of putty into peaple's faces. Anyways... after telnet is up then just type the letter O, after that type drill.hackerslab.org or 127.0.0.1 6667 or whatever your trying to connect to just don't put : between the address and port# though. I've seen alot of new XP users make that mistake for some reason... afterwards these peaple are laughed at.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    3,914
    Originally posted here by |The|Specialist
    Yes its different. First of all just type "Telnet" not "Microsoft Telnet".
    Ok now i'm curious?? Who's typing Microsfot Telnet?
    IT Blog: .:Computer Defense:.
    PnCHd (Pronounced Pinched): Acronym - Point 'n Click Hacked. As in: "That website was pinched" or "The skiddie pinched my computer because I forgot to patch".

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    36
    HTRegz - Thanks very much - tried what u suggested in your first post, worked fine. Apologies for posting to the wrong forum, will know better next time.

    Thanks again all !

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    3,747
    When I go to run I type in Microsoft telnet

    I put no quotes in there either.

    Whats the world coming to with people like you.

    And if you woulnd't be such a dumb ass you would understand that the telnet window is a console, and not a folder.
    =

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    36
    I know that this will probably land me with negative antipoints, but I love antagonising people with an attitude. Seeing them get more and more angry makes me want to p@ss myself.

    Hehehehehehehehe

  8. #8
    Banned
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Yes
    Posts
    4,424
    *Moved from Tutorials. Sorry if this thread doesn't make sense anymore... blame Harry=Pooper *

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •