Tech Support WHO???

Thread: Tech Support WHO???

Tech Support WHO???

This is a rant, in hopes that someone will tell me I'm not the only person wasting my time.

First off I'm a pretty mild person, I pay my bills on time, I act nice to those who I don't like, and I'm patient.
    I have a certification (what a waste) in pc repair.
    I have several years of hands on experience.
    understand several programming languages (although I have never made anything)
    and still have enough common sense to know I still have tons to learn.

But, am I consorting with other people like me where I can learn more? Am I even working for a company that can offer me a day to day challenge? Does there seam to be any hope in my bleak future to ever use what I know......

The answer to every question is in fact. NO!

I worlk for a sad little ISP in iowa, where I sit on the phone for eight hours a day five days a week, telling people how to fix their email, or setup their Internet. There are days I go home and wounder if I can even remember how to turn mine on.

On top of that I have to listen to idiots tell me that they know more, (then why are they calling me) or that they have a "friend" who is a "computer programmer" or "sys admin", and the bad part is I have to put up with it. The company I work for is soooooooo small (we are talking less than 15 employees) so its like kiss A$S isp.

The city (keokuk) i live in has a 12% unemployment rate, stores close faster than they open, and no one hires anyone unless your related or a fishin buddy.

Anyone else have this problem?
    Whats a \"START\" button?

rebmeM roineS enilnOitnA steve.milner's Avatar

Every job has its dreary bits, some more than others. I started my working life as a retail assistant in an electronics shop where tedium often reared it's ugly head.