Looking for WebCT security information.

Thread: Looking for WebCT security information.

Looking for WebCT security information.

Greetings all,

I am a software engineering supporting an install of WebCT on our campus. I'm looking for any good sites that might list any WebCT exploits or if you know of any to help harden our box and keep the system running smooth. Thanks for any info you may have!

\"Not everything that counts can be counted, and not everything that can be counted counts.\" (Sign hanging in Einstein\'s office at Princeton)

I really hope your not trying to hack WebCT, i am a current student on that program. I wish they allowed you to use a stronger password on there, the one they make you use about pathetic.

Originally posted here by FrameWork
    I really hope your not trying to hack WebCT, i am a current student on that program. I wish they allowed you to use a stronger password on there, the one they make you use about pathetic.
    Umm... they don't make you use anything. We also make use of WebCT at my college. Our login is our student number and our default password was also our student number, however as soon as we logged in we had the option of changing the password, which we all did. Mine was 8 character alpha-numeric, upper and lowercase. For something like WebCT I'd think that was more than secure enough.
    IT Blog: .:Computer Defense:.
    PnCHd (Pronounced Pinched): Acronym - Point 'n Click Hacked. As in: "That website was pinched" or "The skiddie pinched my computer because I forgot to patch".

Umm... they don't make you use anything. We also make use of WebCT at my college. Our login is our student number and our default password was also our student number, however as soon as we logged in we had the option of changing the password, which we all did. Mine was 8 character alpha-numeric, upper and lowercase. For something like WebCT I'd think that was more than secure enough.