C:\windows\system32\config\system is missing or corrupt
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: C:\windows\system32\config\system is missing or corrupt

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    3,747

    C:\windows\system32\config\system is missing or corrupt

    A friend of mine has a compaq 2800t laptop with XP home on it, and just recen'ty everytime it boots up he gets a error message saying c:\windows\system32\config\system is corrupt of missing.

    I've tried the repair console using fixboot, and chkdsk /r but both of them do not fix the problem.

    I'm looking around google right now, but maybe someone here knows the answer. Is it a complete system crash. Do i have to reinstall. Or can I copy my system file and put it on his?
    =

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    41
    ave you tried to acutally go to the folder and make sure its still there? because something may of happened to it and got deleted.... anythings posible

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    3,747
    Yeah, I went to to the folder and it is there, but its corrupt.

    I wonder if I can copy my file and put it on his?
    =

  4. #4
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    Cheyenne,

    I would try it mate................guess I have only had it work about 3 in 10 times....but it IS the next step.

    I would personally like to take this opportunity to thank Mr. William Gates III for supplying "free" intelligence tests with his operating systems.


    cynical................................moi?


    Cheers

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    3,747
    So far, from what I've found on it, is that the registry has become corrupted.

    I've found a possible solution at MS's website.

    I'll let you guys know how it goes when i work on this computer tommorrow, but if you have anyother suggestions please let me know.
    =

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    205
    cheyenne1212,

    This seems to be a rampant problem alot of users experience. I dont know if Microsoft really identified issue, you might want to look at following link, although it discusses issue on 2000 platform.

    http://support.microsoft.com/default...NoWebContent=1

    cheers

    P.S.
    Here is one of many links to other boards where people discuss similiar issues:
    http://www.computing.net/windowsxp/w...orum/1321.html

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •