putting a password prompt on a webpage?
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: putting a password prompt on a webpage?

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Rochester, New York
    Posts
    128

    putting a password prompt on a webpage?

    http://victorcharlie.net/cgi-bin/cgiproxy/nph-proxy.cgi


    how would i put a password and username prompt on this before the page loads?
    -Simo

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    772
    Use .htaccess files:
    http://mirage.golden.net/htaccess.html
    Search a bit on your own next time, very easy to find with google.
    I searched google for passwording webpages
    The above sentences are produced by the propaganda and indoctrination of people manipulating my mind since 1987, hence, I cannot be held responsible for this post\'s content - me

    www.elhalf.com

  3. #3
    Webius Designerous Indiginous
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    1,123
    If its an apache server use an .htaccess file. Its basic and will provide basic user/pass login.


    Code:
    Your basic .htaccess file
    
    ErrorDocument 401 /cgiproxy/unauthorized.html
    AuthUserFile /cgiproxy/.htpass
    AuthGroupFile /dev/null
    AuthName "Realm-Name"
    AuthType Basic
    require valid-user

    Line 1: ErrorDocument 401 webpage...

    User does not authenticate, and is redirected to a custom "You shall not pass!" page.
    You can do the same for all other error numbers as well, IE 404, etc
    syntax is

    Code:
    ErrorDocument error_number URL
    ps: remember to put these pages in an unsecured/public portion of the site. Won't do much good if they are in the secure part and can only be seen by valid users.


    Next Line..




    Well, before I get all into it.. What type of server are you using, and is it your local machine or paid hosting?

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Rochester, New York
    Posts
    128
    this is on a paid server. using apache so i can ftp to it
    -Simo

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    9
    it can be done using .htaccess but just to inform u guys there is a product "SiteMinder" from the US based compnay netegrity( www.netegrity.com) which does take care of securing ur web server (apache , iplanet, domino or others) using various authentication schemes like username password, identrus, RSA secure id , form based, certificate based , CRL support and so on . it also provides u Single sign on capability.

  6. #6
    Flash M0nkey
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    3,447
    if its paid hosting they will normally have an option in your cpanel to set passwords for certain files or folders in your dir - just means you dont have to go mucking about with .htaccess yourself just point and click

    v_Ln

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •