Newbie Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Newbie Help

Exclamation Newbie Help

I am rather new to web developement but I hope to use it to help me learn Java/JScript and impliment them them into a web page. My first question was when you first come begin creating it, do you draw everything out on paper or just start in, or is there another better way? Second do you create your own images and if so with what?

Thank you.

AO French Antique News Whore
    I always created my own image for my website. I always use text image so it's nothing very hard. I personnally didn't learn JavaScript. I think the utility of JavaScript is weak compare to PHP. Alot of website offer to host php for free. Php is alot more powerfull that Javascript and the code is hidden also.
    -Simon \"SDK\"

JavaScript can do a lot of things that PHP can't, because it runs on the client-side as opposed to the server-side. It's possible (and extremely easy) to use PHP/JavaScript side-by-side, the contact form on my site is a simple example (the Javacript validates the form before it's submitted, then the PHP double-checks and mails the comments to me).

JavaScript will work on any modern browser that has it enabled, and because it is directly embedded in the HTML and requires no server-interaction (other than to serve the HTML), you can use it on *any* website.

JScript is almost identical to JavaScript, in fact it's just Microsoft's version that runs in Internet Explorer. However, if you write scripts in just "normal" JavaScript (I think the latest version is 1.3) then they will work on Netscape, Mozilla, Opera etc., provided of course that JavaScript is enabled.

For creating my images, I personally use Paint Shop Pro. as I find it easier to learn than Photoshop (and it's a darn sight cheaper!), but you can still create decent effects for it. I'd recommend it to beginners who don't want to start with Photoshop.
    Paul Waring - Web site design and development.