Apache 2 help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Apache 2 help

  1. #1
    Elite Hacker
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    1,407

    Apache 2 help

    I just downloaded and installed apache-2.0.47 on a win98 box.
    The machine is behind a router with an http virtual server enabled which forwards http requests to the local machine. During the install since I don't own a domain or anything I just put the local ip address of the machine in all the domain and server fields. now apache is installed but I cannot access my web page from anything except the localhost(127.0.0.1) ip. I want to be able to view my web page from my internet ip address. I've tried my LAN ip and WAN ip. But local host is all that works. The LAN ip is the one I entered into the fields at install which with the virtual server should be able to be accessed through the WAN ip. Is there some extra configuration that I need to do?
    Thank you for any suggestions.

  2. #2
    PHP/PostgreSQL guy
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    1,164
    Sounds like it might be a forwarding issue. Have you made sure your router has port 80 forwarding to your windows machine that serves web requests?
    We the willing, led by the unknowing, have been doing the impossible for the ungrateful. We have done so much with so little for so long that we are now qualified to do just about anything with almost nothing.

  3. #3
    AO Antique pwaring's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    1,409
    You can't always access your router's external IP from inside the network. Try using a proxy server such as A Mega Proxy to see if you can get round it that way.

    I have a static IP at 62.3.227.191 that you can access, but I can only use the internal IP (on my private network) to access it. I'm not sure if there's a way of getting around this (I think there may be).
    Paul Waring - Web site design and development.

  4. #4
    Elite Hacker
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    1,407
    can you have one machine on a network with a static ip and the rest with dhcp. Right now I am trying to get the windows machine to have a static ip without any success.
    any hints?
    thanks

  5. #5
    AO Antique pwaring's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    1,409
    You should be able to do that, provided that the IP range that the DHCP server assigns from doesn't clash with the static IP address.

    Your best bet is to configure the DHCP server to assign IPs starting from 192.168.1.2 (assuming you're using this private IP space) and then give the other machine an IP such as 192.168.255.255, which shouldn't clash.

    I honestly can't remember how to assign static IPs in Win98, as it's so long since I used it. However, this is the way I use in 2000 so it may work:

    1. Right-click on My Network Places and choose Properties
    2. Double click on Local Area Connection
    3. Click the Propeties button
    4. Select Internet Protocol (TCP/IP) and click Properties
    5. Change the radio button to Use the following IP address
    6. Fill in the boxes (pretty obvious, the static IP you want, subnet mask will probably be 255.255.255.0 and gateway will be the IP of your DHCP server)
    7. Click OK to save the changes
    8. Reboot

    Like I said, the above instructions have always worked for me on Windows 2000, but I have no idea about Windows 98.
    Paul Waring - Web site design and development.

  6. #6
    Elite Hacker
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    1,407
    Is it ok to change the third number in the ip.
    my dhcp server assigns from 192.168.0.100-192.168.0.199
    and i tried to use static ip of 192.168.0.99 and it wouldn't work.
    I'll probably just have to use dhcp. Has anyone figured out why I can't get to my web site through my WAN ip. I tried using that proxy site and it didn't work. I have gotten this to work with a differents web server called something like the tiny web server. It was like 72kb. I wanted something to maybe start a bulletin board using phpbb.
    Would it help if i posted my apache config file?
    it's kindof long
    thanks.

  7. #7
    AO Antique pwaring's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    1,409
    It should be okay to change the third number - you might as well give it a try - if it doesn't work then try changing it back.

    It would help if you posted your apache config file - but post it as an attachment, do *not* copy/paste it into your post!

    I'm running Apache at the moment - server.rixort.com (you should be able to access it). What is the URL or IP address for your WAN, and I will see if I can access it from outside the network.
    Paul Waring - Web site design and development.

  8. #8
    Elite Hacker
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    1,407
    my wan ip is http://24.243.64.239 i think my problem with the static ip is with the dns tab under tcp/ip properties. I'm pretty sure i'm supposed to put in a dns server. I don't know what to put though.

    edit
    if you tried the url before 6:45 pm US/central time please try again because i was messing with my computer and it wasn't working until now. Also please tell me if the site comes up.

  9. #9
    AO Antique pwaring's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    1,409
    Ah, yes, if you want a static IP you'll have to supply a DNS server because usually the DHCP server propogatesthat information for you.

    If you find out your DNS info and add that, either it'll work or at least you should be one step closer.

    BTW, the IP doesn't work for me.
    Paul Waring - Web site design and development.

  10. #10
    Elite Hacker
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    1,407
    Does apache work with dhcp?
    I've tried putting in my isp's dns server. I've also tried putting in the gateway ip which i saw to do on a site somewhere and neither worked.
    and also if i can see the web page on the localhost ip shouldn't i be able to see it on the other ip's also. Maybe after you all see the config file we'll figure it out
    and by the way here is my config file
    thanks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •