Concerning my hard drive partitions

Thread: Concerning my hard drive partitions

Question Concerning my hard drive partitions

Hey everyone,

I'm having some trouble with my PC. At first, I dual-booted WinXP Pro (for my windows apps and games...I'm new to Linux) and Redhat 8.2. I partitioned my drive more times than I should have, and I want to do away with some partitions. When I deleted some of the partitions (in all I have 5 on a 60-gig hard drive) they were dubbed unallocated on the file system. My partitions are formatted with NTFS, FAT32 (my backup drive) and Ext2. Even though they were dubbed unallocated and seemed to be erased completely, the sections of unallocated space still exist, as if they are still partitioned. I have tried running Partition Magic Pro v7.0, but it constantly locks up on my system, even when my system reboots to perform operations in the startup dialogue. I've even tried reformatting and reinstalling my OS, wondering if there was a corrupt file or misconfiguration that causes gliches when I use PMP7. Because of this, I cannot rename my drives (my current primary drive is H nor can I merge partitions. I don't know why my system freezes when I try partition operations...maybe my primary drive isn't unmounting correctly. I have no clue. If anyone out there can give me a pointer or two, I would really appreciate it. Maybe there is some open source partition management software out there...poor college students can't afford the big guns.

Thanks for your time,
    gilgalad
    \"I disagree with what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it.\" - Voltairé

I had similar problems with Partition Magic 7.....get Partition Magic 8 if there is a trial available, if not download the Partition Commander 8 trial....Good Luck
    "It is a shame that stupidity is not painful" - Anton LaVey

On your linux console type cfdisk. From here you can choose which disk partitions you want to edit/erase etc.....Have Fun