Linux+ Course any good for a newb?

Thread: Linux+ Course any good for a newb?

Linux+ Course any good for a newb?

Is Linux+ Course any good? I belive this is a new course. I have been wanting to install linux for a long time now but I have no idea how to use it. I was wondering if anyone would know if this course would be a good stepping stone for using linux.

Thank you,
    Doc

I don't know about the linux+ course, but I have been using various distros of linux for the past three years. I have read books, online tutorials and talked to friends that use the linux OS. The best advice I can give is get a machine in which it dosn't matter if data gets destroyed (don't us your work pc) install linux and have fun. Older slower machines work great (that's the beauty of linux.) Distros like Red Hat and Mandrake are especially easier to install right out of the box. Once you feel comfortable working with these distros, try installing others, or using the custom installation. Anyway you do it, the best way to learn linux is through trial and errror. Good Luck

DeafLamb

Hmm.... I like that idea very much. Only problem is I destroyed my last mb testing a friends system out. He screwed the mobo directly to the case with no stand offs and fried the board and prosser.

After I tryed testing his prosser. I relized what he had done but it killed my test board.

What about downloading a copy of linux from there site? Or should I just buy the cd's? Im trying to opt for the cheapest method. Due to small pockets being in the military.

Thanks,
    Doc