Windows [key] Shorcuts
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Windows [key] Shorcuts

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    27

    Windows [key] Shorcuts

    This may be a simple question, but how do I make key shorts using the windows key, for example, [windows key] + [d] is show desktop, how can I change that to shut down the computer? Or open internet explorer? Or how can I make [windows key] + [s] show the desktop, instead of + [d]?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    205
    Not sure if this is what you're looking for?

    http://www.itglossary.net/windows-ke...hort-cuts.html

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    27
    I know what they are already, how do I make /or change them? Or even can I?

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    205
    http://www.out-loud.com/keyboard_sho...indows_95.html
    http://www.seoconsultants.com/window...-shortcuts.htm

    few others

    sorry , i sent this out before I saw your response,,,



    This software will allow you to do it,

    http://www.fadsoft.com/UltraKeyboard.htm

    Im not sure how to w/o external application..

    cheers

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    27
    Thanks for the link; works fine as a third party app, but I am still wondering how, or even if, I guess it might not be possible, to change the winddows [key] shortcuts.

  6. #6
    AO übergeek phishphreek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    4,325
    Right click on the shortcut of which you want a keyboard shortcut. You don't have to use just your desktop shortcuts... as your start menu is just a bunch of shortcuts too...

    In the properties, you will see shortcut key. Choose your poision and then click apply, then ok.

    You can't use the Windows key though... you can use combos such as ctrl-alt-d for whatever you want.

    To create a show desktop icon... follow the instructions here.
    I think this is what you were looking for.

    Too bad you can't use the windows key though... that kinda sucks.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    27
    Right click on the shortcut of which you want a keyboard shortcut. You don't have to use just your desktop shortcuts... as your start menu is just a bunch of shortcuts too...

    In the properties, you will see shortcut key. Choose your poision and then click apply, then ok.

    You can't use the Windows key though... you can use combos such as ctrl-alt-d for whatever you want.

    To create a show desktop icon... follow the instructions here.
    I think this is what you were looking for.

    Too bad you can't use the windows key though... that kinda sucks.
    I already knew that you could use [ctrl], [alt]; [shift] in keyboard short cuts, I was wondering how /or if you can change or add short cuts that use the windows key. I guess it is not possible to do without using a third party app that just captures key strokes.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    282
    The way that Win32 programs register global keyboard shortcuts in through a function called RegisterHotKey() available through the Win32 Application Programing Interface. Here is an example how to add a hotkey.

    http://www.winprog.org/faq/#3.6.

    this is what Explorer.exe does BTW

    If you don't want to get into the programing part but still want to make a global keyboard shortcut you can get some application launcher that alow you to define hotkeys

    HoeKey
    HoeKey is a teeny (12k) program to assign hotkeys to do most anything. Win-N to run notepad, Win-G to google search on current highlighted word, etc etc. It's configurable with a simple .ini file.
    http://bcheck.arsware.org/#hoekey

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    27
    Thanks journy, that is what I was looking for.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    282
    I was thinking about that you said about changeing an already defined keyboard shortcut.
    There is a function also UnregisterhotKey but I believe it is restricted to hotkeys your program registers. My thought is you could use hooks to code inject into the Explorer.exe process and posibly be able to UnregisterHotKey from there to change some predefined.

    I don't know if it would work but its an idea, unfortunately I cannot discuss code injection but it is easily found on google.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •