Domain
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Domain

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    3,747

    Domain

    I've been wanting to experiment with domains for a while so I figured I'd set one up to learn about it. I have three computers on my little lan. One running XP Pro (I plan on that being the Domain Controller) one running 98SE and one running XP home. I searched the web and here for tutorials on how to set this up with XP pro but couldn't really find anything good. I was hoping maybe somebody here could tell me, or point me to a good site.

    Also one more question.
    I just bought another router BEFSX41 that has a built in firewall and can also serve as a VPN endpoint. What I would like to do is have my home computer be able to connect to VPN. What do I need to do to be able to get that to work? I read somewhere that I have to have a VPN Client software, or a another switch/router with VPN built into it.

    Thanks for your help.
    =

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    137
    Ok, from what I can recall, XP pro cannot be used as a Domain Controler. I am amost 100% positive that it have to be on a server platform. You can do what you are talking about is you promote a 2000 or 2003 Member server to a Domain Controller. I think when you run the DCPROMO on XP, it is gonna look at you like you have 2 heads.. :-)

    On your vpn question: You want your home copmputer to connect to VPN......what vpn??? A vpn between home and work??? Need more info, unless im missing soemthing.
    \"Common Sense, isn\'t that common\"
    \"It is a lot easier to raise a child then it is to repair an adult\"
    -Kruptos

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    239
    Domain on XP Pro
    Good launching pad for setting up a domain.
    http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/e...2January14.asp


    Regarding VPN
    Another good article at Microsoft's site
    http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/p...obile/vpns.asp

    It'd be great if you could share your experiences with us.

    Good luck
    It\'s 106 miles to Chicago, we\'ve got a full tank of gas, half a pack of cigarettes, it\'s dark and we\'re wearing sunglasses.

    Hit it!

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    3,747
    Well from what i've read, I have to have Win 2000 Server. For a OEM version, its $700.

    Is there no way to use XP pro as a domain controller??
    =

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    205
    Cheyenne,

    I dont think you can configure Windows XP pro as domain controller. You need 2000 server.
    (Im pretty sure this is the case...If not Im others will correct me soon)

    Regarding VPN, I recommend you first read up about different flavors of VPN protocols that are out there and then determine which one/s your router supports. There are basically 3 flavors of VPN:
    1)PPTP
    2)L2TP
    3)IPSEC (standard and most widely used)

    There are a lot of great tutorials on Interent..

    Also, just an FYI, you do not need a router to set up a VPN server. Win2000Pro and Win2000 Server support it. With 2000Pro you can only have one concurrent session/tunnel at a time. (which is sufficient for what you want to do) Not sure if XP supports it as well..

    Here is a link/good tutorial (step by step) in setting a VPN session between 2 Win2000pro Pcs
    Configure Windows 2000 Professional to Windows 2000 Professional Virtual Private Network Connections
    http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;257333


    Here are some links to configuring the VPN client on Windows Os's (It's a pretty straight forward process)

    Configuring Your VPN Client for Windows ME, 98, and 95 (this is using cisco's client software)
    http://www.rice.edu/IT/network/remot.../configme.html


    Configuring the Microsoft VPN Software for Windows XP Professional
    http://rucs.rutgers.edu/vpn/vpn_file...vpn_winxp.php3


    If your OS does not support the flavor of VPN client you are implementing, you have to install a 3rd party client..



    Good Luck

    cheers

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    3,747
    My router uses IPsec.

    I think I remember reading something about being able to configure XP to connecto to a VPN.
    Thanks for those links.

    I wonder if I can find a real cheap copy of 2000 Server somwhere?
    =

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    137
    Gunit,

    You mentioned 3 flavors of VPN, Not to get confused or anything, Doesnt IPSEC ride on the L2TP Protocol? I could be wrong, but i am pretty sure I will be corrected if I am :-)

    My point being, would it then actually be considered a additional flavor or just a protocol that rides on on the L2TP implementation??

    http://www.microsoft.com/windows2000...l2tpclient.asp

    let me know, id like to know if I happen to be wrong here :-) !!

    About Microsoft L2TP/IPSec VPN Client

    With the release of Windows 2000, Microsoft introduced the Layer Two Tunneling Protocol with Internet Protocol security (L2TP/IPSec) VPN protocol as a highly secure and interoperable alternative to the well-established Point-to-Point Tunneling Protocol (PPTP) that was already supported on all Windows platforms and most commercial VPN servers. L2TP takes advantage of existing mechanisms for user authentication and client configuration. L2TP/IPSec uses IPSec to provide mutual authentication between the user's computer and the VPN server and strong encryption for all of the data exchanged between the client and the server.

    Here is some more info I found... its from that link i posted above.
    \"Common Sense, isn\'t that common\"
    \"It is a lot easier to raise a child then it is to repair an adult\"
    -Kruptos

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    239
    Originally posted here by cheyenne1212
    Well from what i've read, I have to have Win 2000 Server. For a OEM version, its $700.

    Is there no way to use XP pro as a domain controller??
    Im guessing Windows 2003 Server will likewise be capable of domain controller?

    What is this world coming to? 700 DOLLARS??

    Found one for 475 @ http://www.directdeals.com/ProductDe...0-00013&src=pw
    It\'s 106 miles to Chicago, we\'ve got a full tank of gas, half a pack of cigarettes, it\'s dark and we\'re wearing sunglasses.

    Hit it!

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    205
    You can probably get a cheaper one off ebay for about 300-400 dollars.

    If your router is using IPSEC,then just decide what your client OS is going to be and you're set.
    I dont think win98 supports IPSEC though...(have to doube check)

    Keep im mind IPSEC is not one protocol...You can get fancy or keep it simple,,,,,
    Cisco web site has good white paper on IPSEC
    http://www.cisco.com/warp/public/cc/...o/ipsec_wp.htm

    cheers

    P.S.

    The following tutorials are a great start to understanding VPN
    http://www.internetwk.com/VPN/paper.htm


    Krupotos,
    I think you are referring to RFC3193
    http://www.faqs.org/rfcs/rfc3193.html

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    1
    On the domain side of things you can request an evaluation copy of windows 2000 sever or download a copy.

    http://www.microsoft.com/windowsserv...l/default.mspx

    kcato

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •