Pc's phone calls?.....!!!!!!really
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Pc's phone calls?.....!!!!!!really

  1. #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    37

    Exclamation Pc's phone calls?.....!!!!!!really

    To whom it may interest......

    Are there softwares to make calls from a pc to a house phone.?

    i heard rumors of softwares that would allow you to make calls from a pc to a phone but i have never came across any......i am really intersted in finding one, if it does exist; so can anyone pls help me get my hands on one of those softwares......!!!

    and they are free it woud even b better.

    Taiwl

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    122
    I would assume not, im not any sort of telco tech or anything of that nature. It seems like your mixing to diffrent worlds I would assume. I know you can do it the other way from computer to phone i.e. icq/sms messages to cell phones, but other then that I wouldnt think so. If there was a way that I knew of I'm sure that ATnT/Bell/Sprint would eather own it, kill it, or over charge for it.
    The internet, not just for stalkers and pervs, but for computer geeks too!

  3. #3
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    877
    Originally posted here by r3fus3d
    I would assume not, im not any sort of telco tech or anything of that nature. It seems like your mixing to diffrent worlds I would assume. I know you can do it the other way from computer to phone i.e. icq/sms messages to cell phones, but other then that I wouldnt think so. If there was a way that I knew of I'm sure that ATnT/Bell/Sprint would eather own it, kill it, or over charge for it.
    What the ****ing hell r3fus3d, clearly he wants to make normal calls not voice mail or use those other lame messageing services & **** like that.

    OK when you use dialup what happends? It dials your ISP's number, right? Besides connectiing to your ISP & going online you can also make normal calls like any other phone would do. From what I remember there should be a program that comes with windows that'll let you do this... as a matter of fact I remember on my old windows 95 you could just hit the "menu" button on the keyboard and a menu on the bottom of the screen would appear and it would let you make calls, play CDs, turn the speakers off and on, listen to the radio (deppending on what you had hooked up to your PC by the way).

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    500
    I think he's talking about from a broadband service (ie cable) to place a call to a normal phone. Yes, they do exist, and the plans are rather cheap too. Some companies only provide pc to pc calls, but I found some a few months ago that do what your asking for. I will try to find some links later on today when i arrive back at home.
    Ron Paul: Hope for America
    http://www.ronpaul2008.com/

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    217
    probably taiwl needs to clarify what he is looking to do. If it is as what Specialist says then it should be fairly simple with program being in Windows that allows you to do that. For other OSes there are definitely programs out there that can do that for you. Should be easy to obtain and probably free too.

    But if it is what r3fus3d is talking about then it might take a bit more work finding a service that will do the translation for you. It would be like IP telephony and you would need to subscribe to the service as currently I do not know any way to get it free

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    877
    Either way... with broad band you could get one of those IP to phone services... some of them are really shity and aren't like normal phone calls but some are good, & of course with dailup... as long as you keep paying your phone bills you'd most likely already have everything you need.

    Question is why do you need to dial with your computer though? I mean come on I think that everyone including Amish peaple have phones. Planing on beige boxing somebodies lines?

  7. #7
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    37
    To: Specialist
    ??Question is why do you need to dial with your computer though? I mean come on I think that everyone including Amish peaple have phones. Planing on beige boxing somebodies lines?



    A: The reason why i want to get my hands of one of those software is: because i heard rumors saying that you can there aren't any long distance calls fee on them so that mean that i would be able to speak to my relatives cross country.....is that a good explanation

    taiwl

  8. #8
    Doc d00dz Attackin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    661
    You don't have to buy a program...... You can always download a "War Dialer." Not using the little side notes, which you click and sends the message (i.e.: F U, B&t&h, etc.) They can also say hello, how are you, etc., etc. But, it comes out as a muffled voice. Scary!! Ahhhh!

    **Note, am very busy, so please forgive me if I did misunderstood the question or this was already said.**
    Will come back later..... If so..

    Cya
    First you listen, then you do, finally you teach.
    Duck Hunting Chat
    VirtualConvenience
    RROD

  9. #9
    Flash M0nkey
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    3,447
    it is def possible used to be built in to MSN (can't remember if still is hold on will check) heh forgot my MSN is mod'd to **** so might have before i went tweaking with it - and it did let you make calls without paying longdistance charges - you just bought credits and called as normal using either a mic/speakers(headphones) or a phone handset plugged into back of modem.

    some other pieces of software can be found here -> http://download.com.com/3120-20-0.ht...search=+Go%21+

    or theres a company which does low cost pc-to-phone calls here -> http://www.dialpad.com/
    and this is the one MSN used to be teamed up with when they offered the calls from MSN -> http://www.net2phone.com/

    am assuming you are on windows as u never said any different - but similar services/tools can be found for linux etc

    v_Ln

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    1,210
    v_Ln... finally someone (you) answered with what I think TAIWL was looking for.

    I used to use dialpad when they were free.. (quality sucked)

    now, I'm fairly certain that the free ones are gone.. funny tho.. most "claim" to have high quality voice.. and still somehow I doubt it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •