L I L O question
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: L I L O question

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    5

    Question L I L O question

    I have a comp with win98 and mandrake installed on it. my problem is that the last time i went to reboot and lilo came up, only the L I nshowed and I have noway to choose between linux or windows. And I havnt been able to reformat or get into fdisk either to try to resolve the situation. any suggestions?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    126
    Here is a site where you can download windos or linux boot disks. If you start on of these you should be able to run fdisk and start fresh. not sure if that is what you want to do as it seems like over kill
    http://www.bootdisk.com/
    [Shadow] have you ever noticed work is like a tree full of monkeys you look down and all you see is monkeys below you then you look up and all you see is a bunch of *******s above[/shadow]

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    5
    Thank you muchly I will give it a try. I appreciate the help

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    117

    Re: L I L O question

    Originally posted here by theravenous
    I have a comp with win98 and mandrake installed on it. my problem is that the last time i went to reboot and lilo came up, only the L I nshowed and I have noway to choose between linux or windows. And I havnt been able to reformat or get into fdisk either to try to resolve the situation. any suggestions?
    Is either OS coming up at all or does it freeze on LILO?

    But I agree with PoSer, try a boot disk, up to you which OS. Maybe a configuration files is screwed up somewhere? Or, worst case senario, reinstall maybe? Beyond that, I'm sorry to say I'm not much help.

    alpha

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    5
    Yea neither OS loads, it freezes on LILO. well actually it freezes on "LI" .

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    28
    Likely thing that happened is that lilo screwed up during installation and didn't install properly, just reinstall or try boot disk
    [glowpurple]www.openbsd.org - Unix for the practical paranoid[/glowpurple]

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    9
    I would try a BIOS update or see if you can go in and start from there to fdisk. Sometimes you can catch it from there. I know that seems really primative but I wanted to try and give something to the community.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    5
    Thanks for the help, all.

  9. #9
    Leftie Linux Lover the_JinX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Beverwijk Netherlands
    Posts
    2,534
    LI: This is caused either by geometry mismatch or by moving /etc/lilo/boot.b without running the map installer.

    there are more posibilities

    http://linux.about.com/library/bl/op...ewbie4.1.2.htm
    or
    http://www.europe.redhat.com/documen...WTO/a1405.php3
    ASCII stupid question, get a stupid ANSI.
    When in Russia, pet a PETSCII.

    Get your ass over to SLAYRadio the best station for C64 Remixes !

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    161
    This will help if you are using LILO:
    go to /etc/lilo.conf open it on a text editor:

    label=linux ///remove any that you don't want
    label=windows
    .
    .
    .
    default=linux //boots if no option is selected


    save lilo.conf


    To check your changes without rebooting go to a terminal, /sbin and type $lilo you should get a message about any added or deleted entries for lilo.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •